homepage logo

Local election results include upsets – Click here for details

By Staff | Nov 7, 2012

In election results for Faribault County, several upsets of incumbent mayors occurred.

In Winnebago, incumbent mayor Randy Nowak was defeated by write-in candidate Jeremiah Schutt, 310 to 286. In Elmore, challenger Bill Hurd defeated incumbent mayor Keven Sullivan, 134-113.

In Blue Earth, John Huisman was re-elected to the Blue Earth City Council in Ward 2 over challenger Chelsey Haase. In Kiester, Jeanne Brooks was re-elected mayor, 166 to 132 over challenger Rick Stoneman. John Herman was elected to the Wells City Council in a special election, 790 to 312 over Bob Waack. Arlen O’Brien was re-elected mayor of Bricelyn 105-66 over Bob Carroll.

Rick Johnson and Jean Anderson were elected to the Winnebago City Council in a three way race.

In the Delavan race for mayor, where no one filed, Kevin Walker led the balloting with 23 write-in votes. Tom Hoffman had 10.

In Blue Earth, both of the amendments to the City Charter passed. One dealt with increasing the percentage needed to change the charter, the other dealt with having councilmen elected at-large, but keeping the wards.

County Commissioner Tom Warmka was re-elected over challenger Paul Bach, 1,240 to 338.

In school board elections Frankie Bly, Mark Maher and Dawn Fellows won in the Blue Earth Area School Board contest, and Mike Schrader, Kathy Krebsbach and Steve Navara were elected in the USC School Board race.

Full results will be in the next issue of the Faribault County Register.