homepage logo

Contest in area mayor races

By Staff | Sep 15, 2008

Races developed for the mayor’s position in both Blue Earth and Wells as the filing period came to a close last Tuesday.

Incumbent Blue Earth Mayor Robert L. Hammond is being challenged by City Councilman Les Wiborg.

Hammond is seeking his fourth term, and says it would be his last if elected.

Wiborg’s council seat is not up for election this year. If he is not elected mayor, he will continue as a councilman. If he is elected, the council would appoint someone to fill out his term.

Wiborg, who has served on the council off-and-on for 18 years, says he feels the time is right for his bid for the mayor’s position.

Incumbents John Huisman (Ward I) and Glenn Gaylord (Ward II) will be running unopposed.

In Ward III, incumbent Richard Scholtes will face two challengers, Gary Meyer and Paula Kelly, who filed for the council seat.

In Wells, incumbent Mayor Dave Jacobson did not file for re-election. However, two others are seeking the job.Current city councilwoman Shannon Savick filed for the mayoral spot and so did Diane Dulas.

Five persons filed for the two four-year council positions that will be on the Nov. 4 ballot. Top two vote getters will be elected.

Incumbent Stephen Burns joins Michelle More, Ashley Dylla, David Braun and Mike Weber in running for the two open spots.

Incumbent Scott Linde did not file for re-election.

In Kiester, Mayor Roger Oldfather will be running unopposed.

Filing for the two four-year council positions are Jeanne Brooks, Marcus Elvebak, Donald Jensen and Richard Jensen. Incumbents Edith Hint and Kristi Yost did not file.

Filing for the two year seat in Kiester were Ted Mattick and Machelle Steinke.

School Boards

Three persons filed for the three open seats on the Blue Earth Area School Board.

Incumbents Dawn Y. Fellows and Frankie C. Bly both filed, as well as Shane Becker.

Incumbent Elizabeth Wohlenhaus-Johansen did not file.

For the USC School Board, Incumbent Ron Korn was the only person to file for his two-year open seat.

Filing for one of the three four-year seats are incumbents Christy Wetzel and Ken Hood, as well as Kathy Krebsbach and Stephen R. Navara.

Incumbents Julie Stevermer and Nancy Ulrich did not file for re-election to the board.