homepage logo

W’bago taps council members

By Staff | Nov 10, 2008

Chris Ziegler

Winnebago residents gave the thumbs up to an incumbent and elected a former councilman and newcomer to the City Council.

Rick Johnson and Chris Ziegler were the top vote-getters for two four-year term seats.

Johnson says he thanks the voters for having the confidence to re-elect him to the council.

“I have two goals,” says Johnson. “I want to learn as much as possible and do the best job I can for the people of Winnebago.”

Ziegler, who was the city’s administrative assistant in 2006, collected the most votes among five candidates with 356 and says he’s excited to get started.

Rick Johnson

“I look forward to working with everybody and making a difference,” Ziegler adds.

Johnson was second with 354 votes. followed by Scott Robertson with 326, John Schavey 152 and Michelle Weringa 72.

Bob Weerts is back on the council.

The former councilman won the special election for a two-year post. He received 396 votes, to Bret Osborn’s 292.

Incumbent Mayor Randy Nowak ran unopposed and was elected to a two-year term with 613 votes. There were 31 write-in votes.

Bob Weerts