homepage logo

Blue Earth Chamber celebrates tourism

By Staff | Jan 25, 2010

Randy and Deb Anderson and daughters Chelsey and Lissia.

Tourism and its impact on the local economy was the theme of the 69th Annual Blue Earth Chamber of Commerce Annual Banquet and Meeting held last Monday, Jan. 18.

The banquet theme ‘Explore Blue Earth’ was highlighted with a skit involving members of the Convention and Visitors Bureau (CVB).

Members of the CVB boarded a ‘van’ driven by chairman Tom Juba and the crew took a humorous ‘road trip’ around Blue Earth, complete with slide show of some of the more famous sights in town.

CVB members include Bruce Ankeny, Lori Nauman, John Hanson, Kathy Johnson, Sharon Hoffman and Nathan Larsen, in addition to Juba and chamber executive director Shelly Greimann.

Besides the entertainment, the chamber also presented their top two awards of the year.

Dottie Lawson and Nadine Wickersham-Krull

Anderson Electric was given the 2009 Business of the Year Award, while Nadine Wickersham-Krull was named the 2009 Community Service Award recipient.

Randy and Deb Anderson are celebrating 25 years of being in business in Blue Earth. Their award presenter was their daughter, Lissia Laehn.

In his acceptance speech, Randy Anderson thanked members of his family, and also members of his ‘A-team,’ the employees of Anderson Electric.

His sometimes humorous, and at other times emotional, speech reflected how Anderson Electric came into being, and the success the company has had over the years.

Anderson told how they have expanded into rental properties with their new venture, R and D Anderson Rentals, LLC.

Dorothy ‘Dottie’ Lawson was the presenter for the community service award given to Wickersham-Krull.

Lawson related how she and Wickersham-Krull have been friends since the two taught at the school in Winnebago.

She also listed some of the many ways Wickersham-Krull has been involved in the community.

“The community has been lucky to have her as a member,” Lawson says. “And she was lucky to live here and receive all the support she has gotten since her illness. It truly is a win-win situation.”

The chamber event also includes the annual meeting of the organization. The meeting was conducted by incoming chamber chairman, David Frundt.

One new member of the board was elected at the meeting – Holly Covington, representing the BEA Education Association.

She joins other board members Lori Nauman, Michele Hard, Deb McDonald, David Lein, Cornelia Hagedorn and Jean Dikken.

Members of the chamber also voted to accept a budget for 2010 which reflects expected revenues of $115,700 and expenses of $106,800.