homepage logo


County races develop

By Staff | Jun 7, 2010

Troy Timmerman

A final day filing will mean three Faribault County officials will be facing an opponent in the November general election.

“I was wondering if I was going to get through the last day without anyone filing,” says County Attorney Brian Roverud. “I’ll have to campaign. I guess.”

Challenging Roverud will be Troy Timmerman of Blue Earth.

The past two elections the county attorney has run unopposed.

In July 1998, the county board appointed Roverud and he later won election that November.

Brian Roverud

When he took office there were two full-time attorneys, however, Roverud cut one position because he felt one person could handle the workload.

“I plan to keep it that way for as long I’m county attorney,” Roverud says.

Timmerman has worked with the Faribault and Martin County public defender’s office for 15 years.

“I thought it would be a good way to step up in public service. I want to represent more people and have a bigger impact,” he says.

Since 2004, Timmerman has been managing attorney of the public defender’s office.

Because he enjoys working with those in his office, deciding to run for county attorney was not an easy decision.

“It isn’t that I dislike Brian or think he’s doing a bad job. If that was the case, I would have filed right away. That’s why I wrestled with this for a long time,” Timmerman says.

Incumbent Sheriff Mike Gormley is being challenged by Blue Earth Police Chief Dean Vereide.

In the District 4 commissioner’s race, incumbent Tom Loveall will face Rob Nelson.

Incumbent Auditor/treasurer John Thompson is running unopposed.

There will be primaries for two offices.

Four people have filed for the District 2 commissioner’s seat.

Mike Mensing, Al Travis Thielfoldt, Milton Steele and Greg Young are vying for the position. One-term incumbent Butch Erichsrud has decided not to seek re-election.

Eva Adams, Sheryl Asmus and Ken Skaare are running for county recorder, a position Nancy Huff has held for the past 24 years and who is not seeking re-election.

The two top vote-getters in the primary will square off in the general election.

All offices are four-year terms.

In the legislative races, incumbent District 24 Republican Sen. Julie Rosen of Fairmont will be running unopposed.

Republican Tony Cornish of Vernon Center is being challenged for his District 24B House seat by Joan Muth-Milks, a Democrat from Wells, and Mark D. Meyer, an Independent from Lake Crystal.

In the District 24A House race, incumbent Republican Bob Gunther of Fairmont will face Democrat Steve Fausch, also of Fairmont.