homepage logo


Surprises in city elections

By Staff | Nov 8, 2010

Two incumbents on the Blue Earth City Council failed to gain re-election last Tuesday night, while one former council member was elected to a new seat.

Former Ward 3 councilman Richard Scholtes was elected to the open Ward 1 position. The seat has been open since the death of Dick Maher.

Scholtes had resigned his position when he moved from Ward 3 to Ward 1.

Scholtes had 231 votes, Paula Nuessmeier 167 and Corey Survis 50.

“I am really glad to be back on the council,” Scholtes says. “I’m looking forward to representing the residents of the first ward, and the entire city of Blue Earth.”

Incumbent Les Wiborg was defeated by challenger Russ Erichsrud in Ward 2. Erichsrud tallied 443 votes to Wiborg’s 115. Erichsrud says he was very pleased with the support he received.

“It looks like the people wanted a change,” he says. “And they want the council to work together.”

John Gartzke won the four-year seat in Ward 3, defeating Gary Meyer 268 to 125. Incumbent Dan Brod had not filed to run.

In the other Ward 3 seat, a two-year position, incumbent Paula Kelly was defeated by challenger Allen Aukes, 220 to 174.

Kelly had been appointed to fill the seat which had been vacated by Scholtes.

Aukes says he feels honored and excited to be chosen to serve the city as a councilman.

“I look forward to working with the council members, mayor and city employees to help make Blue Earth a better place,” he said Wednesday morning.

Wells City Council

Ron Gaines was running unopposed for mayor in Wells and received 837 votes, with 40 write-ins also cast.

Ann Marie Schuster and Jim Durfee were elected to the council with 720 and 520 votes respectively. Jerry Schroeder had 236 votes and Mike Weber 170.

Elmore City Council

Keven Sullivan, who had been serving as the interim mayor of Elmore, was elected mayor with 142 votes. Bill Hurd received 77 votes.

Marlys Jagerson and Lorman Jahnke were elected to the council in Elmore, with 133 and 122 votes respectively.

Jim Volz received 105 votes, while Kristin (Rhoda) Travis had 53 votes.

Kiester City Council

Jeanne Brooks was elected mayor of Kiester, gathering 167 votes to 93 for Marcus Elvebak.

Monty Flaskerud and Dean Johnson were elected to the council, with 222 and 129 votes respectively. Dale Drescher received 114 votes, and there were 12 write-ins.

Easton City Council

Three persons were running for two spots on the Easton City Council.

Jeff Linder and Gayle Heise were elected, with 92 and 64 votes, respectively. Gary Gack received 33 votes.

Other City Councils

Other City Council races around Faribault County were uncontested.

In Bricelyn, Thomas Sens was elected mayor with 109 votes, and Amos Burkhow and Rhonda Johnson were elected to the council with 129 and 84 votes respectively.

There were 54 write-ins for mayor, and 82 for council.

Kevin Walker was elected mayor of Delavan with 71 votes. Dan Haugh received 81 votes and Roy Douglas 40 for council.

In Minnesota Lake, Jerry Klein was elected mayor with 164 votes, while Joan Marlene Proehl had 255 votes and Richard Staloch 235 for council.

No one was running for one of the council seats, and for the mayor’s position in Walters.

David Meyer received 19 of the 32 write-in votes for mayor, while Stacy Krohnberg had 25 write-in votes for council, and Michelle Sauk 17, of the 52 write-ins for council.

Nonna Goin ran for the other seat unopposed and was elected with 34 votes.

A question on the ballot concerning allowing Sunday liquor licenses passed 28 yes, 11 no.

Jacob Anderson was elected mayor of Frost with 72 votes, while Randy Halverson and Heather Anderson were elected to the council with 67 and 55 votes respectively.

In Winnebago, Randy Nowak was re-elected mayor with 423 votes. There were 38 write-ins.

Scott Robertson received 388 votes for one of the two open council seats, while Stacy Huntington-Scofield had 319 votes for the other seat.

BEA School Board

All four incumbents running for the four seats on the Blue Earth Area School Board were unopposed and were re-elected.

Terence Cahill received 2,373 votes, Vickie Hanson 2,478, Mary Eckhardt 2,641 and Jesse Haugh 2,653.

There were 84 write-in votes.