homepage logo


Timmerman upsets Roverud

By Staff | Nov 8, 2010

Troy Timmerman

Faribault County will have a new county attorney, commissioner and recorder.

In a close race, Troy Timmerman earned a 311-vote victory over incumbent County Attorney Brian Roverud.

Timmerman, managing attorney of the Faribault and Martin County Public Defender’s Office, received 3,274 votes to Roverud’s 2,963.

“I was shell-shocked. I didn’t know what to expect, it’s the first time I have run for an office. I’m still coming down,” Timmerman told the Register on Wednesday.

Timmerman credits those who supported him and helped with his campaign, especially his wife Laura and son Spenser.

“I just really look forward to working with law enforcement officers and serving the people of Faribault County and those who went to bat for me during the campaign,” he adds.

Roverud has served since being elected in 1998.

He didn’t have much time to reflect on his defeat, Wednesday morning, Roverud was in a Fairmont courtroom to handle a case that had been moved to Martin County District Court.

Roverud says he’s thankful to those who voted for him and gave him the chance to serve the past 12 years.

“I did the best job I could and did it professionally,” he says. “I have to look at this as opening a door to new opportunities, rather than a closed door.”In the District 2 commissioner’s race, Greg Young defeated Al Travis Thielfoldt, 796 votes to 573.

Incumbent Butch Erichsrud chose not to seek re-election to another four-year term.

Sherry Asmus will replace longtime County Recorder Nancy Huff, who decided not to run after serving 24 years.

Asmus received 3,943 votes, while Ken Skaare finished with 2,304.

In District 4, voters elected Tom Loveall to serve four more years on the board.

Loveall tallied 739 votes to Rob Nelson’s 498.

Mike Gormley easily won another four-year term as sheriff.

Gormley got 4,910 votes to Blue Earth Police Chief Dean Vereide’s 1,490.

John Thompson ran unopposed and was elected to the auditor/treasurer position.

Also running unopposed and elected as Soil and Water Conservation District supervisors were: Jean Millmann, District 2; Larry Wigern, District 3; and Bill Anderson, District 5.