homepage logo


With Hammond not running, Scholtes files for BE mayor

By Staff | Aug 5, 2012

Blue Earth residents will elect a new mayor when they go the polls on Nov. 6, and it could be a current council member.

Ward 1 councilman Rick Scholtes didn’t waste any time filing for the position by being at City Hall when the doors opened at 8 a.m. on Tuesday.

Scholtes, who is serving the second year of a four-year term, says his decision involved a long process that included encouragement from Mayor Rob Hammond who is not seeking re-election.

“I’ve had a lot of people ask me to run. Their support means a lot to me,” he says.

Scholtes was elected to the council in 2006 in Ward 3.

In May 2010, Scholtes resigned when he moved into Ward 1 and was elected to his current seat in November 2010.

The veteran councilman believes his experience will be beneficial.

“There are quite a few projects that need continuous support or they’ll fail. I want to be a good leader for the council,” he says.

If Scholtes is elected to the four-year mayor’s seat, someone would have to be apppointed to serve the remaining two years of his Ward 1 seat.

Councilman Glenn Gaylord wants four more years on the council. He has filed for re-election in Ward 2.

Ward 1 Councilman John Huisman also has filed for his four-year term seat and Allen Aukes has indicated he will not seek re-election in Ward 3.

Other mayors up for re-election for two-years posts and have not yet filed include Randy Nowak of Winnebago; Jeanne Brooks of Kiester; Ron Gaines of Wells; and Arlen O’Brien of Bricelyn.

Elmore Mayor Keven Sullivan is being challenged for his two-year seat by Bill Hurd.

In council races, all for four-year terms, up for re-election are Rick Johnson and Chris Ziegler, Winnebago; Jan Engebretson and Don Jensen, Kiester; Mike Henning and Bob Bramer, Bricelyn; Pat Coupanger and Edrys Viland, Elmore; and Ashley Seedorf and Steve Burns in Wells.

Also, Wells Councilman Jay Corbin has indicated he will not run for the remaining two years of his seat.

Filings for council positions closes at the end of Aug. 14 and there is a $2 fee.