homepage logo


Several file to run for local office

By Staff | Aug 19, 2012

Four area cities will have elections for mayor in November.

Incumbent Keven Sullivan is seeking another two years in Elmore and is being challenged by Bill Hurd.

Kiester Mayor Jeanne Brooks, who is seeking re-election, will face Rick Stoneman for a two-year term.

Arlen O’Brien wants another two years in Bricelyn and will square off against Bob Carroll.

In Easton, Brian Sonnek and Bryant Stiernagle are vying for the mayoral seat.

Mayors running unopposed are incumbents Ron Gaines of Wells and Randy Nowak of Winnebago.

Blue Earth councilman Rick Scholtes is not being challenged for the mayor’s position.

No one has filed for mayor in Delavan.

In council races, incumbent Ashley Seedorf and Gary Robbins are running for two four-year seats in Wells.

John P. Herman and Bob Waack are running to serve the remaining two years of a four-year term. Jay Corbin, who was appointed when Jim Durfee resigned, did not file.

Also not seeking re-election is Steve Burns.

“I’ve enjoyed it and it’s been an educational experience. It’s always been my intention to just serve two terms. I think it’s someone else’s turn,” he says.

After a brief break, Dan Brod wants back on the Blue Earth council. He is the only candidate to file for a four-year spot in Ward 3.

Incumbent Glenn Gaylord is running unopposed in Ward 2, while incumbent Ward 1 Councilman John Huisman faces Chelsey Haase.

In Bricelyn, two four-year positions are up.

Incumbents Mike Henning and Bob Bramer will be challenged by Dawn Haskins, Jodi Thompson and Mary Jo Klingbeil.

Three are seeking two seats in Easton; Lanny Johnson, Jon Rath and Jennifer Stiernagle.

Running unopposed for two seats in Elmore are incumbents Pat Coupanger and Edrys Viland.

In Delavan, Lowell Borgos and Merlyn Ottesen are the only ones to file for two council seats.

Winnebago Councilman Rick Johnson, Jean Anderson and Bob Perryman are running for two spots on the council. Chris Ziegler is not seeking re-election.

Richard Jensen and Josh Halvorson filed for the two Kiester council seats. Incumbents Jan Engebretson and Don Jensen did not file.

Filing for mayor in Frost was Brian Loge, while Jared Bruellman and Lee Lincoln are candidates for the two council seats.

David Meyer in running for mayor in Walters. Running unopposed for two seats on the council are Steve Brenke and Nonna Goin.