homepage logo

Tuesday it all is decided

By Staff | Nov 4, 2012

Voters from Faribault County will go to the polls on Tuesday and help decide who will be elected president of the country, U.S. Senator and the U.S. Representative from the First Congressional District.

They will also help decide on two State Constitution proposed amendments and several judicial offices.

County voters will also have a full array of local contests to decide.

Faribault County is now split between two State Representative Districts, 23A on the western edge and 27A on the east.

In 23A, Republican Bob Gunther is facing DFL challenger Kevin Labenz.

In 27A, which encompasses the towns of Wells, Walters and Kiester, Republican Rich Murray, DFLer Shannon Savick and Independence Party candidate William Wagner are on the ballot.

In State Senate District 23, which also covers the western part of the county, voters can decide between Republican Julie Rosen and Paul Marquardt, DFL. Voters on the eastern side of the county will choose between Linden Anderson, Republican, and Dan Sparks, DFL.

While three of the county’s five commissioners are up for re-election, only one is a contested race. In District 5, Tom Warmka and Paul Bach are both on the ballot.

District 1 Commissioner John Roper and District 3 Commissioner Wiliam Groskreutz Jr. are both running unopposed.

Both the Blue Earth Area and United South Central School Districts have contested races for board members, with four candidates running for three spots.

Some county voters will be involved in the Maple River School Board election which also has four persons running for three open seats.

Faribault County voters in the Granada-Huntley-East Chain and the Alden school districts will have just three names for their three spots on those boards.

Cities in the county will be choosing mayors and council members, with many of the races being contested. Bricelyn, Easton, Elmore, Kiester, Minnesota Lake, Winnebago, Blue Earth and Wells all have at least one contested race on their local ballot.

The position of mayor of Delavan is the one city position with no name on the ballot. The Kiester township supervisor spot also does not have a name listed.

Voters will see just one choice on many of the positions listed on the county ballot. These include some township officers, United Hospital District board members, Blue Earth Board of Public Works positions, as well as several City Council open seats.

Besides the two state amendments, voters in Kiester Township have one question to answer concerning keeping roadways clear of rocks and weeds. And, voters in Blue Earth will be deciding whether to make two changes to the City Charter, or not.

Full election results will be included in next week’s Faribault County Register, and will also be posted on the Register’s website at www.faribaultcountyregister.com.