homepage logo

Commissioners face competition

By Staff | Jun 8, 2014

Both of the Faribault County commissioners whose terms are up will be facing some opposition this fall when they run for re-election.

And, both will be facing familiar competition for their seats on the County Board.

In commissioner district No. 2, incumbent Greg Young filed for re-election. He will be facing Milton Steele who also filed by the deadline last Tuesday.

Commissioner Tom Loveall filed for his position in commissioner district No. 4. He will be facing challenger Rob Nelson for the seat in the November election.

Both Steele and Nelson have run for the commissioner seats in the past.

Other county elected officials will be running unopposed on the ballot.

Incumbent John L. Thompson was the only person to file for the County auditor/treasurer position. Likewise, current county recorder Sheryl “Sherry” Asmus was the only person to file for that position.

Current county sheriff Mike Gormley and county attorney Troy Timmerman were also the only persons to file for their positions and will be running unopposed on the fall election ballot.

Three persons also filed for the three seats open for Soil and Water District Supervisor.

Chris Mathews filed for District No. 2, Brett Niebuhr for District No. 3 and Bill Anderson for District No. 5.

Two persons filed for statewide offices at the Faribault County Courthouse.

Douglas L. Richards filed for District Court Judge, Seat 3, for the Fifth Judicial District. No one else filed.

Shannon Savik, Wells, (DFL) filed for State Representative in District 27A, a seat she currently holds.

However, two other persons filed for the seat which covers the eastern tier of townships of Faribault County as well as Freeborn County.

Peggy Bennett, Republican and Thomas Keith Price, Independence Party, also filed.

In State Representative District 23A, which covers the western two-thirds of Faribault County as well as Martin County and parts of Jackson and Watonwan counties, incumbent Bob Gunther (GOP) filed for re-election.

He will face DFL challenger Pat Bacon, Fairmont, who also filed.