homepage logo

Filing time for city councils, school boards in Faribault Co.

By Staff | Jul 27, 2014

Interested in running for election to a local public office in Faribault County? The time to do so begins this week.

Filings for open positions on City Councils and School Boards in the county as well as several other local boards begins on Tuesday, July 29, and closes on Tuesday, Aug. 12.

The general election will be held on Tuesday, Nov. 4.

Here is a list of some of the open positions around Faribault County.

Blue Earth Area School Board; the four positions which will be open for election this fall are currently held by Jesse Haugh, Terry Cahill, Mary Eckhardt and Sheila Ripley.

United South Central School Board; three seats are up for election and are currently held by Dale Stevermer, Jon Feist and Sharon Parriott.

City of Blue Earth; the three council positions up for election this fall are currently held by John Gartzke, Russ Erichsrud and Chelsey Haase.

City of Wells; the office of mayor and two council seats are open this year. The positions are currently filled by Ron Gaines (mayor) and John Herman and Ann Marie Schuster.

City of Winnebago; the terms of mayor Jeremiah Schutt and council members Jonathan Weerts and Scott Robertson are expiring.

City of Bricelyn; technically every seat on the Bricelyn City Council is open this year due to expiring terms or due to the fact the current council members were appointed. The mayor’s position is held by Tom Fens. Two council members who were appointed are Vicky Wobbrock and Joe Scharleboix. The two council members whose terms are expiring this year are Rhonda Johnson and Larry Burkow.

City of Delavan; the terms of the mayor and three City Council trustee members are up this year. The seats are currently held by Mayor Butch Ottesen, Tom Hoffman (2-year term) and Dan Haugh and Roy Douglas (4-year terms).

City of Frost; the mayor and two council positions are up for election. The incumbents are Mayor Bryan (Bob) Loge and Tanya Tyler and Jeff Fuchs.

City of Minnesota Lake; the terms of the mayor and two city council members are up. They are Jeff Ramsey (mayor) and Richard Staloch and Joan Proehl (4-year term council seats).

City of Easton; information not available.

City of Kiester; the terms of Mayor Jeanne Brooks and councilmen Dean Johnson and Monte Flaskerud are up this year.

In addition to these city and school seats, there are positions open on the Blue Earth Light and Water Board, the United Hospital District Board and township offices for Blue Earth Township, Barber Township and Kiester Township.