homepage logo

Young, Loveall survive challenge

By Staff | Nov 9, 2014

Incumbents Greg Young and Tom Loveall have been re-elected to another term on the Faribault County Board of Commissioners.

For the second time in eight years, Young ran against returning candidate Milton Steele for the position of District 2 county commissioner.

And, for the second time, voters elected Young to four more years with a final tally of 680-430.

“I?am dedicated to this county and am honored that I?have been able to serve as county commissioner for District 2,” says Young.

Steele challenged Young once before in the 2010 primary election where four candidates contested for the District 2 seat. In an incredibly close race, and even a ballot recount, Steele had lost the primary election to Al Thielfoldt by only two votes.

This time around, Steele and Young were the only two candidates to file for the District 2 commissioner position.

Similarly, Loveall faced competition for the District 4 commissioner seat from another returning candidate, Rob Nelson.

With 74.65 percent of the votes, Loveall was re-elected to another term as the District 4 county commissioner with a final tally of 742-249.

“I will continue to bring my experience and dedication to resolve the issues that confront the people of District 4 and Faribault County at large,” Loveall says.

In the 2010 election, Loveall was re-elected with 739 votes over opponent Rob Nelson, who earned 498 votes.

Commissioner Young will begin his second term and Commissioner Loveall will begin his fourth term as Faribault County commissioners during the first County Board meeting of the new year, Tuesday, Jan. 6, 2015.

County officials running unopposed:

John L. Thompson was re-elected as county auditor/treasurer with 4,876 votes;

Sheryl “Sherry”?Asmus, re-elected as county recorder with 4,785 votes;

Mike Gormley, re-elected as county sheriff with 4,995 votes;

Troy Timmerman, re-elected as county attorney with 4,779 votes;

Soil and water supervisors elected by district: Chris Matthews, District 2, 4,726 votes; Brett Niebuhr, District 3, 4,715 votes; and Bill Anderson, District 5, 4,651 votes.