homepage logo

County honors a long-time volunteer

By Staff | Nov 26, 2017

From left to right: Greg Young, Clarann Sayre, Tom Warmka, Bill Sayre, Cassandra Lewis, Michelle Klinker, and LuAnn Hiniker. The Faribault County commissioners, along with University of Minnesota extension committee members gathered for the photo opportunity to honor Sayre during the last county board meeting. For the past 37 years, Sayre has demonstrated outstanding commitment and steadfast support in the county.

Clarann Sayre of Faribault County took center stage at last Tuesday’s County Board meeting. Accompanied by her husband Bill, she was honored for her 37 years of hard work and dedication to the University of Minnesota’s extension committee. Extension committee members were also in attendance for the special occasion.

With all 87 counties having extension offices statewide, Sayre displayed exemplary volunteer work at the Ag Center location with an expertise in consumer science, or home economics.

For her diligent efforts, she was presented with a plaque and certificate by county commissioners Greg Young and Tom Warmka. Sayre’s name has now been added to the plaque, along with other distinguished citizens who have had a powerful impact on the university’s success. The award will be prominently displayed inside the extension office at the Ag Center.

Meanwhile, the Certificate of Appreciation noted Sayre’s faithful years of commitment to the University of Minnesota extension and citizens of Faribault County. Sayre’s was quite gracious of the recognition.

“Thank you for the opportunity to serve,” said Sayre.

Fair board treasurer Daryl Murray also met with the board to discuss the proposed 2018 budget for the county fair. For the project, Murray requested $15,000 from the board, which was the same amount that was granted last year by the county.

Murray cited the desire to keep parking fees at $5 as the reason for the request. However, no decision was made by the board on the matter.

Other items from the meeting included:

A motion was passed to appoint Jack Hienitz to an EDA term of three years.

County engineer Mark Daly’s application for a county issued credit card was approved by the board.

A resolution was approved to allow former landowner, Francis Molina, to repurchase a forfeited parcel.

A proposal by drainage department manager Merissa Lore to revise crop prices for rye from $2.06 per bushel to $2.25 was accepted by the board. The county commissioners also authorized $55,648.67 in crop damage relief.

Jenna Schmidtke of Faribault County Veterans Services, and KBEW’s Kevin Benson and Steve White were also in attendance at the board meeting. The local radio station presented a $1,000 donation to the Veteran Service Office. The donation came from proceeds of the annual tractor ride.

With 1,347 veterans living in Faribault County, a total of $8.2 million in revenue from the United States Department of Veterans Affairs has been received on behalf of county veterans in 2017.