homepage logo

Biden wins in county’s DFL voting

By Staff | Mar 8, 2020

With 8,126 registered voters in Faribault County, 1,486 of them chose to participate in the presidential primary elections during Super Tuesday, on March 3.

The Democrats of the county made sure to cast their votes for a DFL presidential candidate, as 836 voters voted for a Democratic nominee, while just 650 Republicans came to cast their vote for Donald Trump.

In the breakdown, it was candidate Joe Biden who won the majority vote for Faribault County with 399 votes tallied in support of the former vice president. Candidate Bernie Sanders was the county’s second choice for the DFL nomination with 148 votes, and 129 votes were tallied for Michael Bloomberg, who recently announced the end of his campaign to be the DFL presidential candidate and then endorsed Joe Biden.

Other candidates who recently ended their race for presidency and endorsed Biden included Minnesota’s own Senator Amy Klobuchar, who still received 74 votes in Faribault County, and Pete Buttigieg, of Indiana, who tallied nine votes in Faribault County. Candidate Elizabeth Warren had 60 votes in the county. She also later ended her campaign for the nomination.

“We had an 18.3 percent turnout, which is about eight percent more than I thought we would have,” says Darren Esser, Faribault County’s auditor/treasurer, and coordinator. “This was a great practice run for the November election.”

“We had a great team with us this evening to help tally votes,” says Faribault County’s chief deputy auditor and accountant, Jessica Blair.?”We had a total of 517 absentee/early votes this time around, and Blue Earth Township was the first precinct to report for the evening.”

Counting began at approximately 8:30 p.m. that evening, and ran until about 10 p.m. after all 33 precincts were counted for the county.