homepage logo

Primary election to be held on Tuesday, Aug. 11

By Staff | Aug 9, 2020

Voters in Faribault County will be going to the polls to cast their votes in the Primary Election on Tuesday, Aug. 11.

The ballot will include both partisan and nonpartisan areas.

Only Faribault County voters in the County Commissioner District No. 5 will have a choice to make.

There are three candidates for the County Commissioner seat currently held by Tom Warmka, who is not running for re-election. The three are Dennis Koziolek, Bruce (Charlie) Anderson and Paul Bach.

The top two vote getters in this race will face off in the Nov. 3 General Election.

Dennis Koziolek is a farmer on the far eastern edge of the county, in Foster Township. He is a life-long resident of Faribault County and a graduate of Wells-Easton High School.

Currently he is the clerk/treasurer for Foster Township and on the Faribault County Planning and Zoning and Board of Adjustment committees.

Bruce Anderson farms in Brush Creek Township and is a life-long resident of the county.

He is a past president of the Faribault County Corn Growers Association and is chairman of the St. Luke’s Lutheran Care Center Foundation and president of the North Blue Earth Lutheran Church.

Paul Bach is from Wells and ran against Tom Warmka for the District 5 commissioner seat back in 2016 and in 2012.

He has been engaged in the trucking, farming and construction industries in his working careers.

He is a graduate of Mapleton High School and is a 34 year long resident of Faribault County.

He has been active in the Wells American Legion, Wells Rifle and Pistol Club and Faribault County Historical Society.

For the partisan ballot, voters need to vote for candidates according to political party lines. That means voting for only Republican or Democrat candidates, or other parties.

Both the Republicans and Democrats have five names listed for U.S. Senator.

The Democrats have Christopher Lovell Seymore, Sr., incumbent Tina Smith, Ahmad R. Hassan, Paula Overby, and Steve Carlson.

The Republicans have Cynthia Gail, Bob “Again” Carney Jr., James Reibestein, Jason Lewis and John Berman.

The Legal Marijuana Now Party has one candidate for U.S. Senator, Kevin O’Connor, as does the Grassroots-Legalize Cannabis Party, Oliver Steinberg.

As far as State Representative for District 23A, the Republicans have a race between Bjorn Olson, of Elmore, and Michael Sukalski of Fairmont.

That winner will face off against the Democrat candidate, Patricia Fahey Bacon, the only name on the Democratic side of the ballot.

It is the opposite case for the eastern side of Faribault County where it is the Democrats who have two candidates for State Representative for District 27A, Thomas Martinez and Joe Pacovsky.

The winner on Aug. 11 will then face off against the Republican candidate, Peggy Bennett, the only name on the Republican side of the Primary Election ballot.

Polls open at 7 a.m. on Tuesday, Aug. 11, and stay open until 8 p.m. Some townships, however, will open as late as 10 a.m.