homepage logo

Election Day 2020 finally here

Faribault County voters join the nation in casting ballots Tuesday

By Chuck Hunt - Editor | Nov 1, 2020

Voters in Faribault County will have a lot of places to mark on their ballots come Election Day on Tuesday, Nov. 3.

Of course, many voters have already cast their ballot – they did early voting and either mailed in their ballot or dropped it off at the courthouse.

But, for the many who wait and go to the polls to do their voting in person, there are a lot of choices to be made on the ballot you will pick up from the election judges.

There is the presidential election of course, but also voting for a U.S. Senator, state legislative contests, and many county, city and school board ballot choices.

There are even choices in some parts of the county for Board of Public Works, Township supervisors and clerks, Soil and Water Conservation District supervisors, hospital board members and lots of judges.

County Board

Three of the five seats on the Faribault County Board of Commissioners are up for election.

In District 1, incumbent John Roper is running unopposed. In District 3, incumbent William Groskreutz Jr. is facing challenger Steven Linde. And in District 5, incumbent Tom Warmka did not file and Dennis Kosiolek and Bruce (Charlie) Anderson are vying for the seat.

School Boards

There are six people running for the three open seats on the United South Central School Board, and five for the three seats on the Blue Earth Area School Board.

At USC it is BreAnne Scheid, Chris Lutteke, Brad Heggen, Michael Schrader, Aaron Bernstein and Diana Brooks.

At BEA it is Lindsay Mensing, Kim Fenske, Jeffrey Eckles, Ted Armon and Daniel Lundquist.

Both districts also have ballot questions asking to vote yes or no on tax referendums for the schools.

Faribault County voters who live within the Alden, Granada-Huntley-East Chain, Maple River or Janesville-Waldorf-Pemberton school districts will also have school board members to vote for.

City Councils

Elmore – The mayor seat held by Bjorn Olson and council seats held by Ruth Kastner and Sue Dickson are open and on the ballot.

Sue Dickson, Babette Tallberg, Elton Rhoda and Margaret Sunderlin have filed for council and Clara Vereide and Mike Schutta filed for mayor.

Blue Earth – The term of mayor Rick Scholtes and council seats of Dan Warner, Glenn Gaylord and John Huisman all expire this year. The mayor position in Blue Earth is for a four year term.

Rick Scholtes has filed for mayor, as has Danny Range. Dan Warner, Glenn Gaylord and John Huisman all filed for council, as did Elizabeth Minor.

Bricelyn – Seats currently held by mayor Dan Klingbeil and council persons Terri Douglas and John Goette are open this year.

All three incumbents were the only ones to file.

Wells – Mayor David Braun and council persons Crystal Dulas and Brenda Weber have their terms expire this year.

David Braun, Todd Steinhaus and Lyle Doerr Jr. all filed for mayor, and Brenda Weber, Nancy Kruger, Josh Raimann and Jeremie Seedorf all filed for the two council positions.

Winnebago – On the ballot will be the seats held by incumbents mayor Jeremiah Schutt and council members Rick Johnson and Jean Anderson.

Jean Anderson filed for the council, as did Tim Hynes. No one, including the incumbent, filed for the mayor’s position.

Delavan – The position of mayor now held by Kevin Walker and the council seats held by Merlyn “Butch” Ottesen and Brian Thompson are all open.

The only person to file was Fred “Cal” Calhoun, for council. No one filed for mayor.

Easton – The mayor position, currently held by Bryant Stiernagle, and two council seats held by Andrea Neubauer and Jon Rath, are open.

Bryant Stiernagle filed for mayor and Jon Rath will be the only name on the ballot for council.

Frost – Mayor Brian Loge’s term is up, as are the council seats held by Jared Bruellman and Lee Lincoln.

Brian Loge filed for mayor and Lee Lincoln and Matthew Gullord filed for city council.

Kiester – Mayor Rich Goggin, and councilmembers Hope Bauman and Brandon Hagenson are all up this year.

Richard Goggin and Douglas Trytten both filed for mayor and Brandon Hagenson and Hope Bauman filed for council.

Minnesota Lake – The terms of mayor Jeff Ramsley and council members Edie More and Lon Stenzel are up.

Jeff Ramsley has filed for mayor. Edie More, Lon Stenzel and Caleb Johnson filed for the council.

Other Elected Positions

In addition, there are open seats on some township boards, Blue Earth Public Works Board and other governmental bodies.

In Blue Earth, incumbents Lars Bierly, Tim Juba and Bernie Kriewall all filed for the Board of Public Works, and Renee Beattie filed for the United Hospital District Board. In Frost, Larry Anderson filed for the UHD Board.

State and National

In the race for president, there are nine choices on the ballot.

The two major party candidates are Donald J. Trump. Republican, and Joseph R. Biden, Democrat.

In the U.S. Senate race, incumbent Democrat Tina Smith is being challenged by Republican Jason Lewis, as well as Kevin O’Connor of the Legal Marijuana Now party and Oliver Steinberg of the Grassroots – Legalize Cannibis party.

One race being watched closely is for First District U.S. Representative, which has incumbent Republican Jim Hagedorn facing off against DFLer Dan Feehan.

Another candidate in that race is Bill Rood of the Grassroots – Legalize Cannibis party.

The State Senate race in District 23 has Republican incumbent Julie Rosen having no DFL challenger, only David Pulkrabek of the Legal Marijuana Now party.

In Senate District 27, which covers the easternhalf of the county, DFLer Dan Sparks, Republican Gene Dornink and Legal Marijuana Now party’s Tyler Becvar are facing off.

In the area state legislative races, Republican Bjorn Olson and Democrat Patricia Fahey Bacon are vying to see who will take over the place of long-time District 23A Representative Bob Gunther.

District 23A covers all of Martin County and parts of Faribault, Watonwan and Jackson counties.

In State Representative District 27A, which covers the eastern part of Faribault County, incumbent Republican Peggy Bennett, of Albert Lea, is facing DFL challenger Thomas Martinez, of Hayward.