homepage logo

And the election winners are…

Faribault Co. local results in

By Chuck Hunt - Editor | Nov 8, 2020

Election judges are wearing protective face shields and all the voters were wearing face masks as in-person voting took place last Tuesday, Nov. 3. This photo from the polling station in Blue Earth shows some of the precautions being taking during the election. County officials reported a large turnout of voters, with a 93.9 percent turnout of registered voters across the county. They report everything went relatively smoothly.

Voter turnout in Faribault County was as large as expected for last Thursday’s General Election.

Out of the 8,476 registered voters in the county, 7,959 went to the polls to cast their ballots, or had previously voted by mail-in ballot.

That is a 93.9 percent turnout.

Here are the unofficial results of the local races in the county.

County Board

Three of the five seats on the Faribault County Board of Commissioners were up for election.

In District 1, incumbent John Roper was running unopposed and was re-elected with 1,239 votes and there were 32 write-ins.

In District 3, incumbent William (Bill) Groskreutz Jr. was re-elected with 914 votes and challenger Steven Linde had 528 votes.

And in District 5, incumbent Tom Warmka did not file and Bruce (Charlie) Anderson won election to the open seat with 808 votes (52 percent) to 727 (47 percent) for Dennis Kosiolek.

School Boards

There were six people running for the three open seats on the United South Central School Board, and five for the three seats on the Blue Earth Area School Board.

At USC it was Brad Heggen with 2,042 votes, Michael Schrader with 1,589 votes and Chris Lutteke with 1, 411 votes elected to the board. Diana Brooks had 1,210 votes, BreAnne Scheid had 806 and Aaron Bernstein 392.

At BEA Ted Armon with 2,518 votes, Lindsay Mensing with 2,296 votes and Jeffrey Eckles with 1,818 votes were elected to the board. Daniel Lundquist had 1,796 votes and Kim Fenske 1,497.

Both districts also had ballot questions asking to vote yes or no on tax referendums for the schools and both passed. At USC the vote was 1,589 yes to 1,332 no. At BEA it was 2,308 yes to 1,905 no.

City Councils

Elmore – Clara Vereide was elected mayor with 136 votes. Michael Schutta had 96 votes.

Sue Dickson had 155 votes and Elton Rhoda 89 and both were elected to the council. Babette Tallberg had 55 votes and Margaret Sunderlin 52.

Blue Earth – Rick Scholtes was re-elected mayor with 1,292 votes. Challenger Danny Range had 328 votes and there were 33 write-ins.

For council, incumbents Dan Warner had 1,080 votes, John Huisman 1,055 votes and Glenn Gaylord 992 votes and all were re-elected. Challenger Elizabeth Minor had 880 votes.

Bricelyn – Incumbent mayor Dan Klingbeil was re-elected with 151 votes and council persons Terri Douglas had 111 votes and John Goette 117 and were also re-elected. All three were unopposed.

Wells – Mayor David Braun was re-elected with 641 votes with challengers Todd Steinhaus having 259 and Lyle Doerr Jr. 244.

For council Brenda Weber had 691 votes and Nancy Kruger 621 and both were elected. Josh Raimann had 388 votes and Jeremie Seedorf 332.

Winnebago – There were 302 write-in votes for mayor with Scott Robertson receiving the highest tally with 156. In second was Rick Johnson with 44. At least 31 persons received at least one vote for mayor.

Council member Jean Anderson had 367 votes and Tim Hynes 429 and both were elected to the council. There were 171 write-in votes.

Delavan – There were 43 write-in votes for mayor as no one had filed. Fred “Cal” Calhoun had 75 votes for council and there were 52 write-ins. Two seats were open.

Easton – Incumbent mayor Bryant Stiernagle had 99 votes and Jon Rath 101 for one of the two council seats, with 39 write-in votes.

Frost – Incumbent Mayor Brian Loge had 94 votes and Incumbent Lee Lincoln had 95 votes for council and Matthew Gullord had 81 votes. Both were elected.

Kiester – Incumbent Mayor Rich Goggin had 148 votes and was re-elected with challenger Douglas Trytten getting 129 votes. Brandon Hagenson had 204 votes and Hope Bauman 205 and both were elected to the council.

Minnesota Lake – Incumbent mayor Jeff Ramsley was re-elected with 340 votes. Lonnie Stenzel had 248 votes and Edith (Edie) More had 232 and both were elected to the council. Caleb Johnson had 151 votes.

Walters – There were 14 write-in votes for mayor.

Brent Stencel had 29 votes and Steve Brenke 28 and both were elected to the council.

Other Elected Positions

In addition, there were open seats on some township boards, Blue Earth Public Works Board and other governmental bodies.

In Blue Earth, incumbents Lars Bierly, Tim Juba and Bernie Kriewall were all re-elected to the Board of Public Works, and Renee Beattie to the United Hospital District Board.

In Frost, Larry Anderson was elected to the UHD Board, as was Melanie Humburg in Prescott Township, Ryan Milbrandt in Blue Earth Township, Douglas Johanson in Winnebago Township and Barbara Hanson in Verona Township.

Jeff Bell was elected to Soil and Water Supervisor District 1, and Neal Mensing in District 4.

Dustin Cole and Joleen Johnson were elected as township supervisors in Barber Township, with Kevin Mertens elected treasurer.

Dave Klubunde and Richard Smith were elected supervisors in Blue Earth Township and Denise Pfaffinger clerk.

Lonnie Burhow was elected supervisor in Kiester Township, but the other seat will be filled by write-in, as will the office of clerk.

Andrew Bell was elected as a supervisor in Verona Township, but the position of clerk will be filled by a write-in.

Township ballot questions in Barber, Blue Earth and Verona Townships all passed.