homepage logo

No. 10-ranked Bucs pin Cards

By Staff | Jan 10, 2009

The Class A No. 10-ranked Blue Earth Area Buc wrestling team flexed their muscles Thursday night.

The Bucs combined eight falls with three Fairmont forfeits for a 69-9 South Central Conference dual-meet victory over the Cardinals in Fairmont.

“We really wanted to come out and wrestle hard tonight,” says head coach Randy Wirtjes. “We figured there would be a couple of close matches at 140 and 189.

“Each match could have gone either way as both went right down to the wire.

The Bucs jumped out to a 36-0 lead before the home team put points on the board.

Travis Hagedorn started BEA off and running by pinning Joseph Weber in 3:16 at 103 pounds and teammate Jake Wirtjes followed with a pin of Brady Krosch in 1:09 at 112.

D.J. Gronewald recorded a 55-second fall over Spenser Meadows at 119, Joe Franta received a forfeit at 125, Carter Hanson pinned Cody Olson in 5:10 at 130 and Bryce Werner received a forfeit at 135.

The Cardinals James Hady earned a 4-2 overtime win over Collin Nienhaus at 140 pounds, to make the score 36-3.

The Bucs got back on the winning track with three straight pins.

BEA’s 145-pounder Sinjin Bell put Carson Ricard’s shoulders to the mat in 3:57, Dan Eckhardt pinned Brent McDonald in 2:41 at 152 and Tyler Johnsrud took 2:29 to pin Andy Sanden at 160 pounds.

Fairmont’s 171-pounder Brock Bonin pinned Clinton Nienhaus in 1:26 before the Bucs Taylor Andrews decisioned Cody Vanasse 3-2 at 189.

Mat Willner, ranked sixth at 215 pounds, received a forfeit and No. 3-ranked Jake Lee pinned the Scott Hines in 3:23 at heavyweight to make the final score 69-9. (Some information provided by the Fairmont Sentinel).

Windom triangular

Windom/Mountain Lake-Butterfield-Odin handed the Class A’s 10th-rated Bucs their first loss of the season.

The Cobras defeated 36-28 in a nonconference dual meet Tuesday night in Butterfield.

It was a battle of wrestling powers. WMLBO is mentioned in the “Lean and Mean” category in the latest Class AA poll.

Each team won seven matches on the night.

The Cobras jumped out to an 11-0 lead when Derek Swoboda recorded a 16-0 tech fall over Tarvis Hagedorn.

At 112 pounds, eighth-ranked Drake Borsgard pinned Jake Wirtjes in 3:51.

BEA won the next three matches, cutting WMLBO’s lead to 11-9.

D.J. Gronewald recorded an 8-1 win at 119, followed by Joe Franta’s 5-3 decision at 125 and Carter Hanson’s 11-10 win at 130.

The Cobras picked up 10 points with fourth-ranked Josh Falk’s tech fall at 135 and No. 3-ranked Billy Hochstein’s tech fall at 145, increasing their lead to 21-12.

The Bucs Collin Nienhaus scored a 3-0 upset win over eighth-ranked Sam Fischenich at 140 pounds.

Dan Eckhardt (152) put four points on the board for BEA with a 21-7 major decision.

WMLBO would close out their scoring with pins at 160 and 171, and a 1-0 win at 189.

Willner and Jake Lee picked up forfeit wins at 215 and 285 respectively.

WMLBO 36, BEA 28

103: Derek Swoboda (WMLBO) tech fall Travis Hagedorn, 16-0.

112: Drake Borsgard (WMLBO) No.8-ranked, pinned Jake Wirtjes, 3:51.

119: D.J. Gronewald (BEA) dec. Heath Quiring, 8-1.

125: Joe Franta (BEA) dec. Vincent Johnson, 5-2.

130: Carter Hanson (BEA) dec. Tim Larson, 11-10.

135: Josh Falk (WMLBO), No.4-ranked, tech fall Bryce Werner, 20-5.

140: Collin Nienhaus (BEA) dec. No. 8-ranked Sam Fischenich, 3-0.

145: Bill Hochstein (WMLBO), No.3-ranked, tech fall Sinjin Bell, 15-0.

152: Dan Eckhardt (BEA) maj. dec. Matt Willaby, 21-7.

160: Mason Anderson (WMLBO) pinned Tyler Johnsrud, :58.

171: Spencer Johnson (WMLBO), No.7-ranked, pinned Clint Nienhaus, :32.

189: Vance Blomgren (WMLBO) dec. Taylor Andrews, 1-0.

215: Mat Willner (BEA) forfeit.

285: Jake Lee (BEA) forfeit.

The Bucs Travis Hagedorn (103) and Sinjin Bell (145) recorded pins to help their team to a 48-15 win over Marshall.

At 112, Jake Wirtjes earned a 14-3 major decision to put four points on the scoreboard for BEA and Dan Eckhardt’s 19-3 tech fall at 152 pounds added five points to his team’s 25-9 lead.

BEA 48, Marshall 15

103: Travis Hagedorn (BEA) pinned Dylan Moflock, 1:15.

112: Jake Wirtjes (BEA) maj. dec. Caleb Citrowke, 14-3.

119: Derek Varpress (Marshall) dec. D.J. Gronewald, 5-4.

125: Joe Franta (BEA) dec. Neal Citrowke, 6-3.

130: Carter Hanson (BEA) forfeit.

135: Todd Hennen (Marshall) dec. Bryce Werner, 6-0.

140: Eli Louwagle (Marshall) dec. Collin Nienhaus, 6-2.

145: Sinjin Bell (BEA) pinned Matt Gutherie, :32.

152: Dan Eckhardt (BEA) tech fall Campbell Hofstetter, 19-3.

160: Tyler Johnsrud (BEA) dec. Matt Versaevel, 5-3.

171: Brett Crecelius (Marshall), No.9-ranked, pinned Cody Klinksiek, :52.

189: Taylor Andrews (BEA) dec. Garrett Dubbeldee, 5-1.

215: Mat Willner (BEA) forfeit.

285: Jake Lee (BEA) forfeit.