homepage logo

Five make All-SCC lists

By Staff | Nov 14, 2009

Kate Hassing

The Blue Earth Area Buccaneers won the South Central Conference volleyball championship title this past season, and several players were also named to the SCC All-Conference lists.

The Bucs Ashley Olson, Jenny Smith and Kate Hassing were on the All-Conference first team list, while teammates Morgan Dickman and Sydney Ristau were on the Honorable Mention list.

“All of these girls are very deserving to be named to this honor,” Buc Head Coach Donna Nawrocki says. “Our team worked hard this past season, and reached many of their goals.”

Olson shared setting duties with Dickman this past season. The 5-foot-6 junior proved to be a force at the net as well.

She had 316 assists to lead the team. Olson also had 131 kills, for a 1.5 kill per game ratio. She also served at a 93.9 percent rate with 155 service points.

Ashley Olson

Jenny Smith, a 5-foot-6 sophomore outside hitter, led the team in several areas. She served at a 97.6 percent clip, with 31 aces and 204 points.

Smith also accounted for 158 kills. On defense she led with 400 returns during the 87 games she played in, plus had 409 digs.

A 5-foot-11 senior middle hitter, Kate Hassing led the Buccaneers in kills, getting 178 during the season. She also had 36 blocks, 198 returns, and 15 ace serves. She served at a 93.8 accuracy rate.

The two players named Honorable Mention also contributed a lot to the Bucs’ success this year.

Morgan Dickman served at a 96.4 percent clip, with 25 aces. The 5-foot-5 senior setter had 249 assists in 87 games. She also had 239 digs and 163 returns.

Jenny Smith

Sydney Ristau is a 6-foot junior middle hitter. She had 152 kills and 45 blocks at the net last season.

She was second on the team for ace serves, with 27. She served for 124 points, and had a serve percentage of 89.3.

As a team, the Bucs served at a 94.1 percentage rate, with 145 ace serves.

They had 704 kills, averaging 8.1 per game. The Bucs blocked 202 balls at the net, or 2.3 blocks per game.

Morgan Dickman

Sydney Ristau