homepage logo

Grapplers improve to 8-0

By Staff | Dec 27, 2009

The Blue Earth Area wrestling team picked up two more wins and heads into the Christmas break undefeated.

The Bucs improved their season record to 8-0 Tuesday night by downing Le Sueur-Henderson 40-23 and New Prague 59-18.

Eight wrestlers won both their matches.

Senior Daniel Eckhardt led the way with two pins at 171 pounds.

Seniors DJ Gronewald (130) and Taylor Andrews (215) each had a pin.

The Bucs 130-pounder also recorded a major decision and Andrews added decision.

Junior Jake Wirtjes collected a pin and a decision at 119 pounds, as did freshman Carter Hanson at 152 and 160.

Junior Joe Franta had a tech fall and decision in his matches at 140.

The Bucs will now be on a long break.

They’re not back on the mat until Friday, Jan. 8, when they travel to St. Peter for a conference tilt.

The next day they’ll host Medford, currently ranked No. 5 in the latest Class A poll.

The Tigers are considered one of the favorites in the Section team competition the Bucs will compete in.

BEA 40, Le Sueur-Henderson 23

103: Travis Hagedorn (BEA), forfeit.

112: Jesse Alleven (BEA), forfeit.

119: Jake Wirtjes (BEA) dec. Chris Pfarr, 15-8.

125: Cody Wiese (LSH) maj, dec. David Franta, 16-4.

130: DJ Gronewald (BEA) maj. dec. Mark O’Connell, 14-2.

135: Jacob Burt (LSH) pinned Mitch Heronimus, 3:01.

140: Joe Franta (BEA) dec. Brett Schwartz, 9-5.

145: Brett Pfarr (LSH) maj. dec. Matt Dulas, 16-3.

152: Carter Hanson (BEA) pinned Sam Lindgren, 3:11.

160: Josh Tresler (LSH) pinned Abi Vasquez, 5:37.

171: Daniel Eckhardt (BEA) pinned Seth Hines-Marqette, 2:42.

189: Josh Willaert (LSH) dec. Cody Eckhardt, 11-5.

215: Taylor Andrews (BEA) dec. Austin Holland, 1-0.

275: Josh Johnson (BEA) dec. Aaron Bruhler, 5-4.

BEA 59, New Prague 18

103: Travis Hagedorn (BEA) dec. Trevor Westerlund, 3-0.

112: James Burg (NP) pinned Jesse Alleven, 1:13.

119: Jake Wirtjes (BEA) pinned Richard Rynerts, 1:40.

125: David Franta (BEA) pinned Foster Gahl, 1:56.

130: DJ Gronewald (BEA) pinned Morgan Perriott, 5:42.

135: Josh Stocker (NP) pinned Mitch Heronimus, 1:20.

140: Joe Franta (BEA) tech. fall Zane Bucher, 19-4.

145: Matt Dulas (BEA) pinned Nathan Vinant, 1:29.

152: Alex Mueller (NP) pinned Abi Vasquez, :43.

160: Carter Hanson (BEA) dec. Luke Ritter, 7-4.

171: Daniel Eckhardt (BEA) pinned Logan Giles, 1:25.

189: Cody Eckhardt (BEA) pinned Joe Hammes, 5:36.

215: Taylor Andrews (BEA) pinned Jesse Tuma, 1:10.

275: Josh Johnson (BEA), forfeit.