homepage logo


BEA downs West, 2nd at invite

By Staff | Feb 14, 2010

DJ Gronewold

The Blue Earth Area wrestling team dominated Mankato West to earn a non-conference win Thursday night in Blue Earth.

The Bucs won 10 of 14 matches, six by way of a pin for a 50-24 victory and improve their season record to 21-3.

The meet was a good tuneup for the South Central Conference tournament held Feb. 13 at Waseca.

The Bucs never trailed in the meet, jumping out to a 6-0 lead with Travis Hagedorn’s pin in 1:57 at 103 pounds.

West tied the score, but BEA’s Jake Wirtjes (119) and D.J. Gronewald (125) followed with pins and David Franta’s decision at 130 pounds built his team’s lead to 21-6.

Winning titles at the Subway Maverick Invite were, left to right, Jake Wirtjes (119), Joe Franta (140), D.J. Gronewald (125), Daniel Eckhardt (171) and Cody Eckhardt (189). To see more photographs of this event, log on to http://cu.faribaultcountyregister.com

The Scarlets cut the margin to 21-12 with a pin, but the Bucs put together three wins in a row.

Joe Franta had a tech fall at 140 pounds, followed by Matt Dulas’ 12-5 decision and Carter Hanson’s 3-2 win to put the home team ahead 32-12.

The Bucs won three of the final five matches.

Daniel Eckhardt (171), Cody Eckhardt (189) and Josh Johnson (285) all pinned their opponents.

BEA 50, M. West 24

103: Travis Hagedorn (BEA) pinned Evan Jakes, 1:57.

112: Zack Lowe (MW) pinned Jesse Alleven, 2:51.

119: Jake Wirtjes (BEA) pinned Josh Hendrickson, 2:36.

125: D.J. Gronewald (BEA) pinned Tyler Herwig, 1:20.

130: David Franta (BEA) dec. Aaron Wall, 3-1.

135: Alex Thompson (MW) pinned Mitch Heronimus, :59.

140: Joe Franta (BEA) tech. fall Hunter Friesen, 25-10, 5:50.

145: Matt Dulas (BEA) dec. Jordan Dalluge, 12-5.

152: Carter Hanson (BEA) dec. Ben Enz, 3-2.

160: Tyler Jakes (MW) pinned Abi Vasquez, 1:04.

171: Daniel Eckhardt (BEA) pinned Cody Taylor, 1:09.

189: Cody Eckhardt (BEA) pinned Thomas Williams, 3:30.

215: Evan Jones (MW) pinned Jason Mertens, 3:28.

285: Josh Johnson (BEA) pinned Seth Johnson, 1:28.

BEA 2nd at invite

The Bucs had 10 wrestlers finish in the top four in their respective weight class to take second place in the eight-team Subway Maverick Invite held Feb. 6 in Sherburn.

BEA tallied 163 points, behind conference rival St. James (185).

The Bucs crowned five champions on the day.

Winning individual titles were Jake Wirtjes (119); D.J. Gronewald (125); Joe Franta (140); Daniel Eckhardt (171); and Cody Eckhardt (189).

Travis Hagedorn took second place at 103 pounds, while Carter Hanson (152) and Abi Vasquez (160) won a bronze medal.

David Franta was fourth at 130 pounds, as was Josh Johnson at heavyweight.

Maverick Invite

St. James 185; Blue Earth Area 163; United South Central 127; Pipestone Area 124; Martin County West 107.5; Fairmont 64; Redwood Valley 61.5, Worthington 60.5.

103: Travis Hagedorn (BEA) dec. Trevor Schultz (Martin County West), 7-5; 1st place: Dylan Herman (USC) pinned Hagedorn, 3:06.

112: Eliot Jurries (Martin County West) maj. dec. Jesse Alleven (BEA), 9-0; Isaac Carreon (St. James) dec. Alleven, 5-0.

119: Jake Wirtjes (BEA) default Joe Weber (Fairmont); 1st place: Wirtjes maj. dec. Brady Bos (Pipestone Area), 15-3.

125: D.J. Gronewald (BEA) dec. Kyle Wiese (Worthington), 6-4; Gronewald pinned Cody Olson (Fairmont), 3:25; 1st place: Gronewald pinned Zach Romsdahl (St. James), 3:20.

130: David Franta (BEA) pinned Cole Nordmeyer (Pipestone Area), 4:08; Alex Anderson (Martin County West) tech. fall Franta; Franta pinned Ethan Peterson (Worthington), 2:05; 1st place: Anderson (Martin County West) maj. dec. Dustin Dylla (USC), 17-4. 3rd place: Matt Tucholke (St. James) dec. Franta, 6-0.

135: Ethan Hildebrandt (St. James) pinned Mitch Heronimus (BEA), :52; Heronimus dec. Allen Hachmann (Pipestone Area), 10-3; Sam Edwards (Redwood Valley) pinned Heronimus, 3:31. 140: Joe Franta (BEA) pinned Devon Ford (Fairmont); Franta pinned Nathan Dubbelde (Pipestone Area), 5:20; 1st place: Franta dec. Brady Stauffer (St. James), 5-3. 3rd place: Travis Gewerth (Redwood Valley) maj. dec. Brady Thisius (USC), 14-3.

145: Giovanni Alvarado (St. James) maj. dec. Matt Dulas (BEA), 12-4; Bryan Andrews (Martin County West) dec. Dulas, 9-3. 1st place: Preston Staloch (USC) pinned Jadon Evans (Pipestone Area), 4:20.

152: Carter Hanson (BEA) pinned Matt Wood (USC), 5:35; Dominic Sweetman (Redwood Valley) dec. Hanson, 5-3; Hanson dec. Dustin Hachmann (Pipestone Area), 2-0; 3rd place: Hanson dec. Levi Ringnell (Martin County West), 3-2.

160: Matt Westman (St. James) pinned Abi Vasquez (BEA), 2:00; Vasquez dec. Matt Haraldson (Pipestone Area), 8-4; 3rd place: Vasquez dec. Briar Bonin (Fairmont), 11-7.

171: Daniel Eckhardt (BEA) pinned Dan Senger (Redwood Valley), 3:56; Eckhardt dec. Matt Dahl (St. James), 11-5; 1st place: Eckhardt dec. Dylan Kor (Pipestone Area), 2-1.

189: Cody Eckhardt (BEA) pinned Cam Hanson (Martin County West), 2:39; 1st place: Eckhardt dec. Tyler Evans (Pipestone Area), 14-8.

215: Alex Dryer (USC) pinned Jason Mertens (BEA), 1:29; Mertens pinned Ryan Fitzgerald (Martin County West), 1:42; Dylan Wright (St. James) pinned Mertens, :29; 1st place: Dryer (USC) dec. Jon Gorter (Pipestone Area), 3-2.

285: Shawn Karau (St. James) dec. Josh Johnson (BEA), 3-2; Johnson pinned Cody Schulze (Pipestone Area), 3:55; 3rd place: Tony Willette (USC) dec. Josh Johnson (BEA), 1-0.