homepage logo


Tracksters take 3rd place

By Staff | May 8, 2010

The Buc boys took third place in a closely scored meet held Monday at New Ulm.

BEA tallied 62 points, behind first-place New Ulm with 72 and Cedar Mountain- Comfrey with 65. Minnesota Valley Lutheran finished with 57.

Nate Carr took first place in two events.

Carr’s time of 15.1 seconds was the fastest of the day and that also placed him No. 2 on the all-time outdoors list. He also won the 400-meter dash in 51.4 seconds and earned the No. 7 spot all-time.

In the sprints, Trey Dyslin was second in the 200-meter dash with a time of 23.9 seconds and Jake Zebedee was fifth in 24.5 seconds.

Jacob Olson’s time of 55.3 seconds in the 400-meter dash was good enough for fourth place.

BEA placed in the top five in all the distance races.

Jonas Hamperl won the 800-meter run in 2:04.5 and also grabbed the No. 9 all-time spot. Abi Vasquez took third place in 2:16.7.

In the 1,600-meter run, Micah Zastrow was fourth with a time of 5:09.2 and Jake Wagner was clocked in 5:14.9 to place fifth overall.

Isaac Vasquez led the Bucs in the 3,200-meter run with a 12:51.6 to earn fourth place, while Alvin Goraczkowski was right behind in fifth place with 12:55.4.

Santos Flores had a good day in the jumps, taking fourth with a leap of 36 feet, 8 3/4 inches in the triple jump and his distance of 17 feet, 6 3/4 inches was the fifth-best in the long jump.

Daniel Plocker also placed fifth in the triple jump with a mark of 35 feet, 7 1/2 inches.

In the throws, Nick Lee was second in the shot put with a toss of 45 feet, 1/2 inches, while Taylor Andrews was fourth with 42-4 and Sam Lee fifth with 40-6 3/4.

Nick Lee also took third place in the discus with a distance of 106 feet, 10 inches.

The 4 x 200-meter relay team passed the baton in 1:38.3 to take first place. Members of the foursome combining for the winning time were JT Roe (24.9), Daniel Plocker (24.8), Isaac Darrington (25.0) and Nick Lee (23.3).

The 4 x 800 quartet of Jake Zebedee (2:19.1), Jacob Olson (2:21.4), Taylor Olson (2:23.9) and Steven Plocker (2:23.1) posted a second-place time of 9:27.3.

In the 4 x 400, Taylor Olson (59.3), Jonas Hamperl (53.6), Jake Wagner (55.3) and Micah Zastrow (58.5) claimed second place in 3:46.5.

Other BEA results:

100-meter dash: Zach Tvedten, 12.2, 7th; Nick Beattie, 12.4, 8th; Zach Thompson, 14.8.

200-meter dash: Nick Beattie, 25.7.

1,600-meter run: Jesse Alleven: 5:42.2.

4 x 100-meter relay: Zach Tvedten, Daniel Plocker, Isaac Darrington, JT Roe, 47.7, 4th.

110-meter high hurdles: Travis Hagedorn, 20.1, 8th; Alvin Goraczkowski, 24.7.

300-meter intermediate hurdles: Travis Hagedorn, 52.0, 8th; Alvin Goraczkowski, 67.4.

4 x 400-meter relay: Abi Vasquez (58.6), Kiley Hyland (63.7), Travis Hagedorn (65.4), Jesse Alleven (68.5), 4:17.9, 5th.

Triple jump: Jacob Olson, 34-2 1/2, 8th; Alvin Goraczkowski, 26-5.

Long jump: Taylor Olson, 16-8, 7th; Zach Tvedten, 16-0; Nick Beattie, 15-7 3/4; Micah Zastrow, 15-3 3/4; Jesse Alleven, 13-9 3/4; Travis Hagedorn, 13-8; Zach Thompson, 11-7 1/2.

Shot put: Josh Johnson, 36-8 3/4, 7th; Brenden Christensen, 33-2, 8th; Jared Brown, 29-5 3/4; Garrett Christensen, 28 1/2; Brad More, 27-6 1/2; Micah Twedt, 27-6 1/2; Daniel Griffin, 26-6 1/2.

Discus: Brenden Christensen, 96-10, 8th; Jared Brown, 94-4 1/2; Josh Johnson, 93-10; Sam Lee, 80-11; Garrett Christensen, 78-3 1/2; Taylor Andrews, 77-2 1/2; Brad More, 76-3 1/2; Daniel Griffin, 75-10 1/2.