homepage logo


NRHEG downs BEA in semis

By Staff | Feb 28, 2011

The season came to an end for the Blue Earth Area wrestling team with a loss in the semifinals at the Section 2A Team Tournament held Feb. 19 in Mapleton.

New Richland-Hartland-Ellendale-Geneva downed the Bucs 40-23 and then lost in the finals to Class A No. 1-ranked Jackson County Central, 45-19.

BEA cruised into the semis with a 62-11 thumping of Medford in the opening round.

Against NRHEG, the Bucs jumped out to a 5-0 lead when 103-pounder Alec Huber opened with a technical fall over Jet Wayne in 3:05.

The Panthers won two close decisions at 112 and 119 to take a 6-5 lead and never trailed again.

“They’re a solid team, but we let a couple of matches get away from us,” says head coach Randy Wirtjes. “Our kids wrestled hard and with intensity, but New Richland (Hartland-Ellendale-Geneva) was ready to wrestle, too.”

Senior Jake Wirtjes, ranked No. 6 in Class A, stopped the Panthers’ momentum with a 9-1 major decision at 130 pounds.

But, NRHEG built its lead to 28-9 before BEA mounted a small comeback.

Senior and No. 6-ranked Joe Franta’s pin at 152 and a technical fall from Carter Hanson at 160 brought the Bucs within eight, 28-20.

However, NRHEG won the next two matches, clinching the team win with a pin at 189 pounds.

Josh Johnson closed out BEA’s scoring with a 7-2 decision at 215 pounds.

Perhaps the most exciting match of the meet was the final one between Buc heavyweight eighth-grader Martin Granados and Panthers’ senior Cody Root.

At the end of three periods and six minutes of wrestling, the match was knotted at 1-1.

Root would eventually win a 3-2 decision in triple-overtime.

United South Central had an early exit from the tournament.

Maple River downed the Rebels 39-23 in the opening round.

The Eagles never trailed, winning the first match and eight of the next 13.

The highlight match was at 112 pounds, where the Eagles’ No. 4-ranked Zach Kuhns faced No. 5-rated Dylan Herman.

Trailing 3-2, Herman scored the winning two-point reversal as time ran out in the match.

The Rebels’ two other ranked wrestlers also won their matches.

No. 7-ranked Dustin Dylla pinned Casey Decker in 1:39 in their 145-pound match, while No. 10-rated heavyweight Tony Willette won by injury default.

BEA 62, Medford 11

103: Tyler Keller (Medford) tech. fall Alec Huber, 17-0, 4:00; Keller is ranked No.9.

112: Jesse Alleven (BEA) maj. dec. A.J. Chappuis, 13-1.

119: Travis Hagedorn (BEA) tech. fall Nick Von Ruden, 2:53.

125: Mike Ankeny (BEA) wins by forfeit.

130: Jake Wirtjes (BEA) pinned Dane Elwood, 3:38.

135: Isaac Vasquez (BEA) pinned Tate Colwell, 1:59.

140: Mitch Hieronimus (BEA) dec. Trevor Grems, 9-7.

145: Curt Maas (Medford) pinned Dylan Johnsrud, :46; Maas is ranked No. 1.

152: Joe Franta (BEA) maj. dec. Andrew Keller, 18-7; Franta is ranked No.6.

160: Carter Hanson (BEA) maj. dec. Dan Larson, 13-4.

171: Devon Jahnke (BEA) wins by forfeit.

189: Kysten Zierke (BEA) pinned Alec Schauer, 4:17.

215: Josh Johnson (BEA) pinned Nate Elzen, 3:18.

285: Martin Granados (BEA) wins by forfeit.

NRHEG 40, BEA 23

103: Alec Huber (BEA)?pinned Jet Wayne, 3:05.

112: Tyler Logan (NRHEG) dec. Jesse Alleven, 9-8.

119: Dustin Esplan (NRHEG) dec. Travis Hagedorn, 6-1; Esplan is ranked No.9.

125: David Lassahn (NRHEG) pinned Mike Ankeny, 4:51.

130: Jake Wirtjes (BEA) maj. dec. Nathan Krohn, 9-1; Wirtjes is ranked No.6.

135: Brandon LaBlanc (NRHEG) maj. dec. Isaac Vasquez, 27-14.

140: Cody Ripka (NRHEG) pinned Mitch Hieronimus, 1:13.

145: Jacob Staloch (NRHEG) pinned Dylan Johnsrud, :37.

152: Joe Franta (BEA) pinned Dillon Parpart, 1:59.

160: Carter Hanson (BEA) tech. fall Geoff Ramaker, 24-9.

171: Matt Dahle (NRHEG) Devon Jahnke, 11-9.

189: Seth Petranek (NRHEG) pinned Kysten Zierke, 2:18.

215: Josh Johnson (BEA) dec. Todd Erickson, 7-2.

285: Cody Root (NRHEG) dec. Martin Granados, 3-2, triple overtime.

Maple River 39, USC 23

103: Russell Caldwell (MR) dec. Jay Staloch, 5-3.

112: Dylan Herman (USC) dec. Zach Kuhns, 4-3; Herman is ranked No.5, Kunhs is rated No.4.

119: Jesse Jaeger (MR) pinned Colin Wegner, 2:54; Jaeger is ranked No.6.

125: Aaron Trio (MR) dec. Jake Gonzalez, 9-4.

130: Derek Herman (USC) maj. dec. Dylan Dietz, 10-1.

135: Mitch Stoltzman (MR) dec. Ben Johnson, 2-1.

140: Tyler Olson (MR) pinned Seth Olson, 5:00.

145: Dustin Dylla (USC) pinned Casey Decker, 1:39; Dylla is rated No.7.

152: Seth Barkosky (MR) pinned Logan Sonnek, 2:52.

160: Aaron Wittrock (MR) dec. Jordan Beyer, 6-3.

171: Scott Schoneck (MR) dec. Colton Carlson, 4-3.

189: Brady Thisius (USC) maj. dec. Nick Kruger, 13-3.

215: Paul Sonnek (MR) pinned Lucas George, 1:32.

285: Tony Willette (USC) wins by injury default, Trevor Leagjeld; Willette is ranked No.10.