homepage logo


Bucs go 1-1; 4th at Maher Invite

By Staff | Dec 11, 2011

Alec Huber

The Blue Earth Area wrestling team went 1-1 in a Maple River triangular held Thursday night in Mapleton.

The Bucs downed Lake Mills 43-24, then lost 36-29 to Maple River.

Against Lake Mills, BEA held a 25-24 lead with three matches left.

But, the upper weights displayed their muscle with three straight pins.

Kysten Zierke pinned Andy Nicholson in 4:44 at 195 pounds, while 220-pounder Micah Twedt needed just 1:05 to put Tanner Fjelstad’s shoulders to the mat.

Heavyweight Josh Johnson closed out the scoring for BEA with a fall over Jon Miller in 5:37.

The Bucs (2-0) took a 6-0 lead over Maple River (4-0) when 106-pounder Ryan Gronewald pinned Noah Decker in 5:15.

In the next two matches, BEA nearly pulled off two upsets.

Russell Caldwell, ranked No. 6 at 106 pounds in Class A, earned a 6-4 decision for the Eagles and No.4-ranked Zach Kuhns followed with a 2-0 win at 120 pounds to tie the team score at 6-6.

“We wrestled well and were able to keep their good wrestlers from getting bonus points,” says head coach Randy Wirtjes. “It played out like we thought it would.”

Mike Ankeny put three points on the scoreboard for BEA with an 8-6 overtime win at 126, but Maple River’s 132-pounder Aaron Trio followed with a pin to put his team ahead 12-9.

BEA’s Jesse Alleven won 4-3 at 138 to tie the score again.

The Bucs forfeited the next two matches, giving Maple River a 24-12 lead.

David Franta was bumped up a weight to 160 and it proved to be a good move for BEA. The sophomore edged Aaron Wittrock, 1-0.

Carter Hanson also wrestled one weight higher and earned a technical fall over the Eagles’ Kyle Schoneck in 2:26.

Hanson’s win cut Maple River’s lead to four, 24-20.

Maple River got a pin at 182 to increase their lead to 30-20.

The Bucs Kysten Zierke brought his team to within seven points with a 4-1 win at 195 pounds, but 220-pounder Paul Sonnek clinched victory for the Eagles with a pin.

BEA 43, Lake Mills 24

106: Ryan Gronewald (BEA) dec. Scott Wogen, 8-4.

113: Alec Huber (BEA) dec. Lincoln Boehmer, 8-7.

120: Isaac Vasquez (BEA) pinned Curran McLaughlin, 1:30.

126: Noah Irons (LM) pinned Mike Ankeny, 1:41.

132: Luke Schavey (BEA) dec. Brady Schmidt, 4-1.

138: Andy Dahle (LM) pinned Jesse Alleven, 1:53.

145: LM wins by forfeits.

152: David Franta (BEA) maj. dec. Cameron Peterson, 11-3.

160: Carter Hanson (BEA) dec. Jon Erickson, 5-4.

170: Chris Ramos (BEA) dec. Andrew Olsen, 7-6.

182: Ben Irons (LM) pinned Christian Haugh, 1:49.

195: Kysten Zierke (BEA) pinned Andy Nicholson, 4:44.

220: Micah Twedt (BEA) pinned Tanner Fjelstad, 1:05.

285: Josh Johnson (BEA) pinned Jon Miller, 5:37.

Maple River 36, BEA 29

106: Ryan Gronewald (BEA) pinned Noah Decker, 5:15.

113: Russell Caldwell (MR) dec. Alec Huber, 6-4.

120: Zack Kuhns (MR) dec. Isaac Vasquez, 2-0.

126: Mike Ankeny (BEA) dec. Zak Walters, 8-6 OT.

132: Aaron Trio (MR) pinned Luke Schavey, 2:58.

138: Jesse Alleven (BEA) dec. Bryce Woitas, 4-3.

145: MR wins by forfeit.

152: MR wins by forfeit.

160: David Franta (BEA) dec. Aaron Wittrock, 1-0.

170: Carter Hanson (BEA) tech fall Kyle Schoneck, 2:36, 16-1.

182: Tyler Olson (MR) pinned Chris Ramos, 3:22.

195: Kysten Zierke (BEA) dec. Casey Becker, 4-1.

220: Paul Sonnek (MR) pinned Micah Twedt, 4:11.

285: Josh Johnson (BEA) wins by forfeit.

Bucs take 4th

The Jackson County Central Huskies lived up to their No. 1 ranking in Class A in dominating a 10-team field of the Dick Maher Invitational held Saturday, Dec. 3, in Blue Earth.

JCC had five individual champions to win the team title with 248.5 points, well ahead of last year’s champs the Brainerd Warriors with 164.

Maple River was third with 159, followed by Blue Earth Area (125) and United South Central (111) to round out the Top 5.

The host Bucs advanced three into the finals, but none were able to win gold.

At 160 pounds, No. 1-ranked Darick Vancura of JCC earned a 15-2 major decision over No. 4-rated Carter Hanson in the championship match.

The Buc junior scored a 13-2 major decision against Zach Kempema of Worthington and a 9-4 win over Jason McLaughlin of Madelia-Truman to make the finals.

Sophomore Kysten Zierke pinned Easton Schuch of WEM-JWP in 1:27 and won by injury default over Turner Hagen to advance to the championship match.

Zierke dropped a 4-0 decision to Casey Biever of Brainerd to take second place.

At heavyweight, Josh Johnson, rated No. 3 at 220 pounds, lost 3-1 in the finals to Colton Hines of Fairmont/Martin County West.

Johnson downed Alex Tewes, ranked No. 9 at 220, 4-2 to earn a spot in the finals.

Taking third place for BEA were Mike Ankeny at 126 pounds and 138-pounder Jesse Alleven.

Ankeny recorded a fall in 2:51 against Jake Zelinske of Brainerd in his opening match before losing a 9-0 major decision to Bryon Forstner of Madelia-Truman.

In the wrestlebacks, the Buc freshman pinned Zak Walters of Maple River in 1:11. He then won a 12-1 major decision over Leon Fletcher of Mankato East to win the bronze medal.

Alleven pinned Tyler Spangler of Brainerd in 5:15 to start the tournament. He lost an 11-8 decision to eventual champ Derek Herman of USC.

The Buc junior pinned Cole Mosher of Mankato East in 3:39 to advance to the third-place match.

Again, he faced Spangler but needed less time to earn a fall, this time in 4:43.

The USC Rebels had three champions in No. 3-rated Dylan Herman at 132 pounds, Derek Herman (138) and No. 3-ranked Brady Thisius (182).

The Rebels’ No. 4-ranked Colten Carlson was pinned by No. 1-rated Cooper Moore of JCC in the finals.

Team results

Jackson County Central 248.5, Brainerd 164, Maple River 159, BEA 135, United South Central 111, Waterville-Elysian-Morristown/Janesville-Waldorf-Pemberton 108, Worthington 991, Mankato East 86, Fairmont-Martin County West 79.5, Madelia-Truman 69.

Other BEA results

106: Skyler Petry (WEM-JWP) pinned Ryan Gronewald, :33; Noah Decker (MR) pinned Gronewald, 4:33.

113: Dylan Wolff (WEM-JWP) maj. dec.. Alec Huber, 11-0; Huber dec. Justin Gifferson (M-T), 7-6; Wolff (WEM-JWP) dec. Huber, 11-6 for 3rd place.

120: Colin Ayers (WEM-JWP) dec. Isaac Vasquez, 4-2; Vazquez dec. Eric Colon (M-T), 8-2; Ricardo Fletcher (ME) maj. dec. Vasquez, 12-4; Vasquez dec. Jake Gonzalez (USC), 4-2 for 5th place.

132: Luke Schavey dec. Isaac Pfeffer (M-T), 6-3; Ryan Timko (JCC) pinned Schavey, 3:42; Schavey dec. Jeff Purvis (WEM-JWP), 7-6; Nick Vanasse (F-MCW) pinned Schavey, 2:53.

145: Tucker Roeker (WEM-JWP) pinned Jacob Johnson, :59; Johnson maj. dec. Devon Ford (F-MCW), 9-1; Jacob Clarke (WOR) pinned Johnson, 1:57.

152: Cody Lorentz (ME) dec. David Franta, 3-2; Spenser Meadows (F-MCW) dec. Franta, 7-5.

182: Carson Hagen (WOR) dec. Chris Ramos, 7-5; Ramos pinned Casey Decker (MR), 3:52; Ramos default Lance Brolsma (F-MCW); Brett Joramo (M-T) dec. Ramos 10-4; Ramos pinned Spencer Kangas (Brainerd), 7:29 OT for 5th place.

220: Micah Twedt pinned Ben Winas (ME), 2:55; Paul Sonnek (MR) pinned Twedt, 2:48; Emmanuel Martinez (WOR) dec. Twedt, 4-1; Twedt pinned Taylor Grams (WEM-JWP), 4:20 for 5th place.