homepage logo


BEA wins Wolfpack Duals

By Staff | Dec 18, 2011

The Blue Earth Area wrestling team went 4-0 to capture the team title at the Park Wolfpack Duals held Dec. 10 in Cottage Grove.

“It was a good day for us. We got to wrestle a lot of good wrestlers, there were three triple A schools there,” says head coach Randy Wirtjes.

“Our young wrestlers stepped up and the older guys came around when we needed them,” he adds.

BEA had little difficulty against their first two opponents, defeating Cannon Falls 42-30 in the opening round and then Tartan 44-22.

However, BEA needed some late heroics to pull out a 36-33 win over host Park.

The Bucs built a 24-6 lead after the first five matches, but led 27-18 after Carter Hanson won a 7-2 decision at 160 pounds.

Park got a decision and a pin in the next two matches to tie the score at 27-27.

The Wolfpack took a 33-27 lead with a forfeit win at 195 pounds.

Buc 195-pounder Kysten Zierke was bumped up to 220 pounds, and the move paid off.

The sophomore responded by pinning his opponent in 1:19 and knotting the score at 33-33.

The outcome of the meet was in the hands of heavyweight Josh Johnson, who earned an 8-1 decision to give his team a 36-33 victory.

The win gave Johnson a 4-0 record in his matches and 113-pounder Alec Huber also was 4-0.

One of Johnson’s wins was a 6-1 decision over Chatfield heavyweight Cody Wrubel, who is ranked No. 5 in Class A. Johnson started the season rated No. 3 at 220 pounds in Class A.

Four Bucs posted 3-1 marks, Mike Ankeny (126), David Franta (152), Carter Hanson (160) and Kysten Zierke (195).

Hanson’s only loss was a 10-2 major decision to TJ O’Hara of Tartan, who is ranked No. 6 at 152 pounds in Class AAA. The Buc junior is rated No. 4 at 160.

BEA improved its season record to 6-1.

BEA 42, Cannon Falls 30

(first round)

106: Paul Fitterer (CF) pinned Ryan Gronewald, 5:41.

113: Alec Huber (BEA) dec. Tyler Willson, 6-5.

120: Isaac Vasquez (BEA) dec. Keaton Lopez, 8-2.

126: Roman Wundrow (CF) pinned Mike Ankeny, 1:47.

132: Connor Rohr (CF) dec. Luke Schavey, 7-5.

138: Jesse Alleven (BEA) pinned Bo Schutte, 5:56.

145: Jacob Johnson (BEA)?pinned Sterling Carlson, 1:46.

152: David Franta (BEA) pinned Devon Zier, 3:12.

160: Carter Hanson (BEA) pinned Derek Johnson, 5:51.

170: Justin Miest (CF) dec. Chris Ramos, 6-1.

182: Cooper Rohloff (CF) pinned Christian Haugh, 3:14.

195: Clay Broze (CF) pinned Kysten Zierke, 1:33.

220: Micah Twedt (BEA) wins by pin, 1:05.

285: Josh Johnson (BEA) wins by forfeit.

BEA 44 Tartan 22

(second round)

106: Ryan Gronewald (BEA) wins by forfeit.

113: Alec Huber (BEA) pinned Justin Burg, 4:16.

120: Brad Luchsinger (T) pinned Isaac Vasquez, 1:09.

126: Mike Ankeny (BEA) dec. Peyton Floyd, 4-3.

132: Luke Schavey (BEA) dec. Tyler Kogrer, 8-6.

138: Jesse Alleven (BEA) dec. Josh Lingen, 6-2.

145: Nick Garcia (T) pinned Jacob Johnson, 3:06.

152: David Franta (BEA) wins by forfeit.

160: TJ?O’Hara (T) maj. dec. Carter Hanson, 10-2.

170: Chris Ramos (BEA) dec. Eli McGeehan, 10-3.

182: Mitch Maran (T) pinned Christian Haugh, 4:07.

195: Kysten Zierke (BEA) dec. Donny Rhueman, 6-4.

220: Micah Twedt (BEA) pinned Justin Sandberg, 1:34.

285: Josh Johnson (BEA) pinned Jason Telin, 1:30.

BEA 36, Park 33

(third round)

106: Collin LaBrosse (P) pinned Ryan Gronewald, 1:41.

113: Alec Huber (BEA) wins by forfeit.

120: Isaac Vasquez (BEA)?pinned J.P. Pallias, 4:56.

126: Mike Ankeny (BEA) pinned Jake Lanik, 1:23.

132: Luke Schavey (BEA) pinned Daniel Duval, 2:00.

138: David Ayers (P) dec. Jesse Alleven, 6-3.

145: Kenn Gerhardt (P) pinned Jacob Johnson, 2:38.

152: Corey Flaata (P) dec. David Franta, 1-0.

160: Carter Hanson (BEA) dec. D’Monte Farly, 7-2.

170: Scott Johnson (P) dec. Chris Ramos, 5-4.

182: Nate Bauman (P) pinned Christian Haugh, 1:27.

195: Cody Linssen (P) wins by forfeit.

220: Kysten Zierke (BEA) pinned Tyler Liljedahl, 1:19.

285: Josh Johnson (BEA) dec. Carg Sargent, 8-1.

BEA 41, Chatfield 33


106: Hank Friedrichs (C) pinned Ryan Gronewald, :45.

113: Alec Huber (BEA) tech fall Tye Bentz, 5:08.

120: A.J. Riley (C) pinned Isaac Vasquez, 3:45.

126: Mike Ankeny (BEA) wins by forfeit.

132: Alex Hoffner (C) pinned Luke Schavey, :56.

138: Ryan Mecker (C) dec. Jesse Alleven, 3-2.

145: Jacob Johnson (BEA) pinned Ben Pierce, :41.

152: David Franta (BEA) dec. Jeremy Benike, 7-2.

160: Carter Hanson (BEA) pinned Dalton Lundy, 2:08.

170: Chris Ramos (BEA) pinned Dakota Martin, 3:40.

182: Matt Salerow (C) pinned Christian Haugh, 3:10.

195: Kysten Zierke (BEA) pinned Justin Viss, 2:44.

220: Sam Fryer (C) pinned Micah Twedt (BEA), :22.

285: Josh Johnson (BEA) dec. Cody Wrubel, 6-1.