homepage logo

After 2014 success, Buc boys ready again

By Staff | Mar 30, 2015

Front Row (L to R): Blake Townsend, Tucker Bottin, Jordan Frandle, Sam Hahn, Seth Becker, Petter Neilsen, Reed Krieger, Grant Strukel, Thomas Lindsey, Owen Naumann, Jake Lang. Middle Row: Ben Babcock, Nick Lang, Daniel Juarez, Clayton Johnson, Akeira Morrow, Clint Waddell, Adam Griffin, Gannon Haase. Back Row: Haakon Johnson, Alex Benson, Bailey Olson, Brandon Olson, Zach Vaske, Grant Madetzke, Rylee McGuire, Johnny Hynes.

While the weather this past week was not conducive to having outdoor track practices, the boys track team continues to train inside as they prepare to compete in the 2015 track and field season.

The boys are coming off of a strong 2014 performance that saw them finish second at the Section True Team Meet. They also placed third in the SCC Championship.

A number of boys achieved All-Conference status last year. The 4 x 200 team of Derek Johnson, Gus Phillips, Camden Bowers and Bailey Olson along with pole-vaulter Brandon Olson all earned gold medals.

Silver medals were won by Danny Krieger in the shot put and discus and Calvin Sanders in the 3200 meter run.

Those earning bronze medals were Bailey Olson in the 200, Nick Shure in the long jump and Bowers in the triple jump.

Although 13 individuals and one relay team advanced to the Section Meet, Bailey Olson was the only athlete to qualify for the trip to Hamline University to participate in the State Meet. Other section medalists were the 4×200 team of Johnson, Phillips, Bowers and Olson with a third place finish, Nick Shure who finished fourth in the long jump and Brandon Olson with a sixth place finish in the pole vault.

The boys were no slouches in the classroom either. The team had a cumulative GPA of 3.74 to earn the gold level academic honor. Returning athletes Brandon Olson and Chris Sanders were named to the Academic All-State Team.

“We lost a fair number of seniors from last year’s team and we have some kids that didn’t come out,” notes coach Tom Plocker. “We have a lot of newcomers on the team so it will take some time to get everything in place.”

Following a couple of early indoor meets, the Bucs finally head outside on Tuesday, April 7, when they will participate in the St. James Invite. Three days later the Bucs will host their own invite at Wilson Field and will have meets every week culminating with the Minnesota State High School League State Championship on June 5-6.

There are eight seniors out for track this year. They are: Alex Benson, Derek Johnson, Haakon Johnson, Jacob Johnson, Sam Kafka, Nick Shure, Joe Yates and Ike Zebedee.

Juniors are: Camden Bowers, Sam Hahn, Petter Nielsen, Bailey Olson, Brandon Olson, and Zach Vaske.

Sophomores are: Seth Becker, Jordan Frandle and Reed Krieger.

Freshmen are: Tucker Bottin, Damian Cornelio, Johnny Hynes, Clayton Johnson, Daniel Juarez, Nick Lang, Grant Madetzke, Rylee McGuire and Sam Welker.

Eighth-graders are: Ben Babcock, Gunnar Fering, Akeira Morrow and Blake Townsend.

Seventh-graders are: Gannon Haase, Keagan Ihle, Jake Lang, Thomas Lindsey, Owen Naumann, Brady Olsen, Grant Strukel and Clint Waddell.