homepage logo

BEA boys track places second

By Staff | Apr 8, 2018

Angel Martinez, Nate Phippen, and Xlavier Morrow (from left to right) hustle down the track during the 800 meter run at the Mankato East indoor meet held on Thursday, March 29 at MSU. Morrow placed fourth in the race, while Martinez placed fifth.

It was second place for the Blue Earth Area boys track team during their Mankato East Indoor track meet on Thursday, March 29. The boys earned 51 points while Mankato East placed first with 122.5 points. MSAD (Minnesota State Academy for the Deaf) placed third with 33 points while Janesville-Waldorf-Pemberton placed fourth with 15.5 points.

“Cameron Anderson and Ben Babcock popped jaw-dropping jumps,” says head coach Tom Plocker. Anderson earned first in the long jump event with a distance of 20-1, while Babcock was right behind in second place with a 19-9 jump.

Clayton Johnson placed first in the triple jump with a distance of 38- 3/4, while Rylee McGuire also earned first in pole vaulting with a vault of 11-6.

BEA’s medley relay team consisting of Riley Anderson (27.6), Gunnar Fering (25.7), Alex Reese (56.7) and Grant Strukel (2:12.9) placed first as well with a time of 4:02.6.

To add to the heap of first-placers, the 4×200 meter relay team of Babcock (25.9), Rylee McGuire (27.2), Johnson (25.9), and Cameron Anderson (24.2) earned first as well with a total time of 1:44.2.

Other Results:

4×400 meter relay: BEA (second, 4:01.2) Clayton Johnson (61.4), Grant Strukel (59.5), Riley Anderson (63.0), and Alex Reese (57.0).

60 meter high hurdles: Gunnar Fering (third, 9.8), Alex Reese (fifth, 10.3), Owen Naumann (11.2).

60 meter dash: Ben Babcock (third, 7.7), Riley Anderson (8.0), Dominic Morrow (9.3), Brady Bromeland (9.4), Bruk Sonnicksen (9.5), Austin Skaden (9.5).

1600 meter run: Cameron Germain (5:45.1).

800 meter run: Xavier Morrow?(fourth, 2:41.7), Angel Martinez (fifth, 2:42.0), Nate Phippen (2:43.3), Derek Lium (2:53.5), Blair Lunz (3:16.7), Carson Strukel (3:28.4).

Pole vault: Matthew Krause (8-0).

Long jump: Angel Martinez (14-1 1/2), Austin Stauffer (13-5), Austin Skaden (11-5), Bruk Sonnicksen (11-2), Kyren Sunken (10-6).

Triple jump: Xavier Morrow (third, 31-11 1/2), Aaron Lorenz (27.7).

Shot put: Grant Madetzke (32-2), Akeira Morrow (29-7), Johnny Hynes (29-4), Carson Strukel (21-3), Sully McGuire (20-7).

Girls Results:

As for the maroon and gold girls, they placed third with 28 points with JWP earning second with 32.5 points, and Mankato East placing first with 146.5 points. MSAD placed fourth with 10 points.

“The medley was a fun race,” says Plocker. “As Callie Stevermer chased down her Mankato East opponent for the relay win.”

The?BEA medley relay team earned first with a combined time of 4:52.1 with the efforts of Ta Armstrong (29.5), Heidi Herrmann (32.7), Amanda Jacobson (68.1), and Stevermer (2:40.5).

Also placing first for the girls was last year’s only State qualifier, Nicole Lium, who vaulted 9-0 feet for first.

Other Results:

4×200 meter relay: BEA (fourth, 2:18.4) Lauren Bleess (33.7), Calli Ferguson (33.9), Sydney Eastvold (34.2), Maddie Schiltz (34.4).

60 meter high hurdles: Heidi Herrmann (third, 10.7).

60 meter dash: Ta Armstrong (9.0), Diana Lopez (9.4), Mirna Castro (10.8), Izzy Todd (11.5).

800 meter run: Tori Oswald (3:16.9).

200 meter dash: Amanda Jacobson (fifth, 30.5), Izzy Todd (41.9).

4×400 meter relay: BEA (third, 5:56.6) Adrianna Reddick (85.2), Calli Ferguson (87.1), Chevelle Henke (98.4), Sara Hernandez (87.2).

High jump: Nicole Lium (4-8).

Pole vault: Heidi Herrmann (second, 7-6).

Long jump: Jaden Barnett (11-9 3/4), Mya Steinhauer (9-4 1/4), Makaylin Schaible (7-9 3/4).

Triple jump: Aubrey Hueper (23-0).

Shot put: Ta Armstrong (fourth, 27-9), Maddie Schiltz (22-8), Marianna Rincon (18-5).