homepage logo

12 BEA tracksters named all-conference

By Staff | May 20, 2018

One of Blue Earth Area’s all-conference performers Clayton Johnson gets vertical during a competition.

There was big competition in Pipestone on Saturday, May 12.

The Buc boys came just behind Jackson County Central who earned second place at the BSC with 121 points, while Redwood Valley placed first with 126.5 points. Fourth place went to Pipestone with 110 points, while Luverne earned fifth with 88 points.

Eight individual boys earned all-conference honors at the meet including Rylee McGuire, who earned first place in pole vault with a 13-0, and Thomas Lindsey, who placed second in pole vault with 10-0. Clayton Johnson earned second place in triple jump with a distance of 39-5 1/4, while Brady Olson represented BEA well, earning third with a height of 5-8 in the high jump, and Cameron Anderson earned All-Conference honors in the long jump, receiving third place, with a height of 20-1/2.

Runners Grant Strukel (third place, 10:50.60) earned All Conference honors in the 3200 meter run, Adam Griffin earned honors in the 400 meter dash (third, 55.14), and Gunnar Fering earned honors in the 110 meter high hurdles with a time of 17.09, received second place.

Three BEA?relay teams also earned All-Conference honors. They are:

the 4×800 meter relay team consisting of Alex Reese (2:12.7), Grant Strukel (2:12.4), Brady Olsen (2:16.5), and Clayton Johnson (2:13.0) who earned first place with a combined time of 8:56.04,

the 4×100 meter relay team consisting of Waylen Douglas, Austin Thielfoldt, Riley Anderson, and Ben Babcock, who earned second place with a time of 48.01,

and the 4×400 meter relay team comprised of Adam Griffin (54.7), Alex Reese (56.7), Brady Olsen (57.1), and Clayton Johnson (55.0) who earned second place with a relay team time of 3:43.70.

The girls team had a tougher time placing, earning fifth with 93 points behind Redwood Valley in fourth place with 93.5 points, Windom in third with 95 points, Pipestone in second with 112 points, and Luverne leading the way with 180 points.

Meanwhile, four girls earned All-Conference honors including Nicole Lium, who earned first place in both the high jump (4-11), and pole vault (9-0), Melissa Hagedorn who earned second place in both the 100 meter high hurdles (17.10) and the 300 meter low hurdles (50.97), Lindsey Norman who placed second in shot put with a distance of 37-5 1/2,?and Amanda Jacobson who earned second place in the 400 meter dash with a time of 64.30.

The BEA girls 4×100 meter relay team, consisting of Ta Armstrong, Maddi Oelke, Alissa Norman, and Lindsey Norman, also earned All-Conference honors as they placed second with a time of 54.22.

Other Results:


110 meter high hurdles: Owen Naumann (20.30).

300 meter int. hurdles: Alex Reese (fourth, 45.13), Gunnar Fering (46.83), Owen Naumann (52.77).

100 meter dash: Riley Anderson (12.30), Ben Babcock (12.48), Waylen Douglas (12.53).

400 meter dash: Carson Anderson (58.03).

200 meter dash: Cameron Anderson (fifth, 24.25), Riley Anderson (24.82).

1600 meter run: Julius Holzer?(5:28.70), Cameron Germain (5:45.45), Derek Lium (6:22.76).

800 meter run: Jacob Dikken (2:2146), Eric Becker (2:28.20), Xavier Morrow (2:32.65).

Pole vault: Austin Thielfoldt (fifth, 9-6).

Long jump: Ben Babcock (fifth, 17-11 1/2), Jacob Dikken (15-4).

Triple jump:?Xavier Morrow (33-3).

Shot put: Luke Norman (29-11 1/2).

Discus: Grant Madetzke (103-8), Luke Norman (83-5), Johnny Hynes (57-4).


4×800 meter relay: BEA (fourth, 11:16.38) Kiera Osmundson (2:40.6), Callie Stevermer (2:46.8), Eloise Blair (2:53.0), Kaitlin Johnson (2:55.0).

4×200 meter relay: BEA (fourth, 1:55.77) Ta Armstrong (28.9), Maddi Oelke (27.9), Alissa Norman (29.2), Hannah Johnson (29.2).

4×400 meter relay: BEA (third, 4:34.61) Melissa Hagedorn (67.0), Hannah Johnson (69.5), Kaitlin Johnson (69.9), Amanda Jacobson (67.5).

100 meter high hurdles: Heidi Herrmann (18.35).

300 meter low hurdles: Eloise Blair (fifth, 52.51).

100 meter dash: Ta Armstrong (14.59).

400 meter dash: Lauren Schavey (74.95).

200 meter dash: Lauren Schavey (33.91).

1600 meter run: Callie Stevermer (6:16.24).

800 meter run: Kiera Osmundson (2:45.48)

Pole vault: Izzy Walker (fifth, 7-0), Hannah Johnson (13-6 1/4).

Long jump: Heidi Herrmann (fifth, 14-4 3/4), Hannah Johnson (13-6 1/4).

Triple jump: Maddi Oelke (30-3/4), Izzy Walker (26-2).

Shot put: Alyssa Ripley (27-8 1/2), Ta Armstrong (26-9).

Discus: Lindsey Norman (74-5), Alissa Norman (67-7), Hayley Jahnke (62-1).