homepage logo

Track athletes move on to Sections

By Staff | Jun 2, 2019

Photo by Greg Abel/Fairmont SentinelBen Babcock soars through the air with the greatest of ease on his way to a first place finish to qualify for Sections in the long jump at the Subsection track meet held in Fairmont on May 23. Babcock also qualified in the triple by finishing in second place. A total of 16 individuals and four relay teams qualified for Sections.

The Blue Earth Area boys and girls track teams had a very successful sub-section track meet on Thursday, May 23, at Fairmont. The boys team had nine individuals and two relay teams qualify for the Section 2A Championship to be held Saturday, June 1, at Mankato West, while the girls team had seven individuals and two relay teams qualify.

The individuals from the boys team going to the Section meet are Grant Strukel (first, 3200 meter run, 10:38.22), Thomas Lindsey (first, pole vault, 13-9), Ben Babcock (first, long jump, 20-5 1/2, second, triple jump, 40-3 1/4), Brady Olsen (second, high jump, 6-0), Carson Anderson (second, 200 meter dash, 23.75), Nick Frank (third, shot put, 40-2 1/2, fourth, discus, 119-11), and Zac Murphy (fourth, shot put, 40-1/2).

BEA’s boy relay teams headed to Sections are the 4×200 meter relay team consisting of Waylen Douglas (24.1), Adam Griffin (23.9), Brady Olsen (23.2) and Carson Anderson (23.9) who earned second place with a season best time of 1:35.19, and joining them will be the 4×100 meter relay team consisting of Waylen Douglas, Austin Thielfoldt, Riley Anderson and Ben Babcock, who placed second with a season best time of 46.06.

Other results:

4×800 meter relay: BEA (third, 9:16.82) Eric Becker (2:19.5), Tate Thielfoldt (2:17.3), Cameron Germain (2:20.0), Angel Martinez (2:19.9).

4×400 meter relay: BEA (fourth, 3:42.55) Carson Anderson (54.8), Adam Griffon (55.6), Cameron Germain (57.7), Brady Olsen (54.3).

110 meter high hurdles: Gunnar Fering (18.00), Owen Naumann (22.25), Jayden Smith (19.31).

300 meter int. hurdles: Gunnar Fering (46.64), Jayden Smith (46.66), Owen Naumann (49.22).

400 meter dash: Adam Griffin (fifth, 55.84).

Shot put: PJ Christensen (36-10).

Discus: Luke Norman (103-9), Blake Ripley (82-1).

Triple jump: Xavier Morrow (36-8 1/2), Aaron Lorenz (34-8 3/4).

Long jump: Carson Anderson (18-11), Austin Skaden (12-1 3/4).

1600 meter run: Eleazar Cuevas (5:42.56), Nate Phippen (6:01.82), Carson Strukel (6:02.59).

800 meter run: Tate Thielfoldt (2:18.91), Eric Becker (2:23.62), Damion Mahlstedt (2:23.80).

3200 meter run: Angel Martinez (12:01.54).

Girls results:

The seven individuals from the girls track team who are off to the Section 2A Championship are Eloise Blair (first, 300 meter low hurdles, 48.07), Heidi Herrmann (first, pole vault, 8-0), Sophie Keister (second, high jump, 5-0), Amanda Jacobson (second, 400 meter dash, 62.82), Ta Armstrong (third, 200 meter dash, 28.87), Lauren Bleess (fourth, 300 meter low hurdles, 50.96), and Alyssa Ripley (fourth, shot put, 30-11 1/2).

BEA’s girl relay teams headed to sections are the 4×200 meter relay team consisting of Amanda Jacobson (28.0), Lauren Bleess (27.4), Ta Armstrong (27.4), and Hannah Johnson (28.7) who earned second place with a season best time of 1:51.61. Joining them will be the 4×100 meter relay team consisting of Ta Armstrong, Sidney Blair, Lauren Bleess and Caitlin Rorman who placed second with a time of 54.59.

Other results:

4×800 meter relay: BEA (fifth, 11:35.64) Addison Armstrong (2:38.7), Calli Ferguson (2:49.6), Elizabeth Jacobson (2:48.9), Leah Becker (3:11.2).

4×400 meter relay: BEA (third, 4:22.88) Amanda Jacobson (62.9), Kaitlin Johnson (67.5), Addison Armstrong (66.6), Hannah Johnson (65.6).

100 meter high hurdles: Heidi Herrmann (fifth, 18.01).

100 meter dash: Chevelle Henke (14.65).

400 meter dash: Kaitlin Johnson (fifth, 67.17), Elizabeth Jacobson (68.39).

200 meter dash: Kate Armon (30.95), Lacey Nietfeld (36.91).

800 meter run: Callie Stevermer (2:49.94), Aubrey Hueper (3:25.19).

Pole vault: Jazmyn Lunz (6-6).

Shot put: Ta Armstrong (28-0), Chloe Groe (26-5).

Discus: Alyssa Ripley (89-1), Marianna Rincon (70-5), Hayley Jahnke (59-1).

High jump: Caitlin Rorman (4-8).

Long jump: Haley Kalis (13-1 1/2), Maddie Dulac (10-10 1/4).

Triple jump: Hannah Johnson (32-0), Kate Armon (27-3), Sydney Eastvold (27-2 1/2).